S/V Odyssey

1979 CSY 44 Walk-Over, center-cockpit, cutter

01 November 2015 | Home in Calabasas
08 July 2015 | Channel Islands Harbor
08 July 2015 | Dana Point Harbor
08 July 2015 | Kona Kai Marina, San Diego Harbor
08 July 2015 | Marina Coral, Ensenada MX
08 July 2015 | Turtle Bay and north
08 July 2015 | Enroute
08 July 2015 | Enroute to Turtle Bay
08 July 2015 | Enroute to Los Cabos
08 July 2015 | Marina De La Paz
25 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
25 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
10 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
07 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
07 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
04 June 2015 | Puerto Los Gatos
04 June 2015 | Isla San Francisco at "the Hook" and the north anchorage
04 June 2015 | Isla San Francisco
04 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz, Caleta Lobos

Thoughts on blood, squid and vomit

18 November 2013 | Marina De la Paz
Bill
11/18/13
Yesterday saw my last crew member, John, leave for the States. I figured I would have a quiet day and mess around on the boat. The outboard motor is now running, thanks to Sea Otter Jimmy, who has a boat a few slips away. That is how you are known around here, boat name first. So I will be Odyssey guy until they get to know me. Anyway, with the motor now running, I took a dinghy tour of La Paz harbor. It is very pretty, and 8-10 miles long, I'm told. On my way back in to the Marina, I was invited for sundowners (cocktails) on Mintaka, a boat we met while berthed in San Diego. As I was getting ready to head over there, two couples dropped my my boat, drinks in hand, so I was not lonely yesterday.

This morning I decided to get industrious and wash the boat, which brought some interesting observations with it. Now, I already knew that red wine and coffee would stain light colored fiberglass, but I found some new stain-makers. Fish blood stains, live squids stain when they squirt their ink or die (see picture). If I had known this about squids I would have made a special effort to remove the dead ones from the deck and then clean up after them. I also found that vomit is good for removing varnish and some boat paint. I am going to make seasick guests vomit on specific areas that need stripping and repainting from now on, ha ha.
Because La Paz Harbor is long and has a narrow entrance, the tides create pretty good currents, both in and out. This afternoon I went stand up paddle boarding (SUPing) across the harbor to the magote, which is the long finger of land on the ocean side of the harbor. When I returned I discovered that the tide was going out and that it had a pretty stiff current going out as well. I made it back, but worked much harder than I had planned. Next time I will check the tides before leaving the Marina. Tomorrow I will be going with people from several boats to dinghy out to snorkel with the whale sharks. Should be a blast again. That is it for now. Wish you all could be here. Weather is 80 ish, water is close to that.
Comments
Vessel Name: S/V Odyssey
Vessel Make/Model: Caribbean Sailing Yacht (CSY) 44, W/O
Hailing Port: Ensenada De La Paz, BCS, Mexico
Crew: Bill, Susan, Cody and Kyle and friends
About: Bill and Kyle, along with crew, brought Odyssey to Mexico in November, 2013, with the Baja-Haha. She now lies in La Paz, BCS. Family and friends will come to share experiences in the Sea of Cortez.
Extra: I am planning to cruise the Sea of Cortez for at least a year, and then maybe do the "puddle jump" to the south pacific.
S/V Odyssey's Photos - Main
These are pics from our ten days in La Paz, including 5 nights at anchor.
28 Photos
Created 21 January 2015
Videos from our trips
No Photos
Created 11 July 2014
6 days at the islands, swimming with whale sharks
87 Photos
Created 16 June 2014
Local Islands near La Paz
11 Photos
Created 27 January 2014
La Paz pictures
No Photos
Created 27 January 2014
Assorted pictures of Odyssey.
3 Photos
Created 4 October 2013
Improvements and upgrades of Odyssey
9 Photos
Created 4 October 2013