S/V Odyssey

1979 CSY 44 Walk-Over, center-cockpit, cutter

01 November 2015 | Home in Calabasas
08 July 2015 | Channel Islands Harbor
08 July 2015 | Dana Point Harbor
08 July 2015 | Kona Kai Marina, San Diego Harbor
08 July 2015 | Marina Coral, Ensenada MX
08 July 2015 | Turtle Bay and north
08 July 2015 | Enroute
08 July 2015 | Enroute to Turtle Bay
08 July 2015 | Enroute to Los Cabos
08 July 2015 | Marina De La Paz
25 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
25 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
10 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
07 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
07 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
04 June 2015 | Puerto Los Gatos
04 June 2015 | Isla San Francisco at "the Hook" and the north anchorage
04 June 2015 | Isla San Francisco
04 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz, Caleta Lobos

Heading out solo

23 April 2014 | Bahia San Gabriel
Bill, warm
4/20/14
The morning broke sunny and calm, so I ran around to finish getting ready for my mini trip. I was on my way out of the Marina by 1000, motoring (of course) in a dead calm. I arrived at Bahia San Gabriel in 3 hours without catching any fish, or, get this, without seeing any rays jumping! That was a first for me. I dropped anchor and got everything shipshape. As I was congratulating myself on a job well done, I looked around and realized that I had anchored too much in the middle of the bay, with no protection from the winds. So, up with the anchor, motor for 5 minutes, and do it all again. As my buddy Skorsy can attest, I have come a long way with my anchoring.
After getting settled, I began to do some projects. While I usually do this at the dock, I figured there is no reason not to do this stuff in some beautiful anchorage instead. About that time some bees came by to check out the boat. While this is pretty normal, what happened next was not. Apparently, the first scout bees liked what they saw, because I was soon the host for maybe 100+ bees. They ended up driving me inside after I secured both doors and closed hatches. I've heard that they are looking for water, so I put some out on the back deck. No luck, they wanted inside for some reason. Maybe they know that I am bee friendly back home? :) Well that changed in a hurry as I attempted to drive them off with spray cleaner. Most of them eventually left, some super clean. I paddled over to a boat anchored nearby to see if it was just me, or if everyone was having bee problems. I found that the bees like everyone, so I began hoping they would be gone when the sun went down. They were.
I made BBQ tacos for dinner after refilling my small propane tanks from the big ones. It's a pretty easy process, but you MUST make sure the big tank is shut off before removing the small one. Yow, that was exciting! As night fell there was only one other boat in the bay. The stars shined brilliantly in the black night sky, while the sounds of leaping rays played in the background. Pop, pop, pop. This is so amazing!
Comments
Vessel Name: S/V Odyssey
Vessel Make/Model: Caribbean Sailing Yacht (CSY) 44, W/O
Hailing Port: Ensenada De La Paz, BCS, Mexico
Crew: Bill, Susan, Cody and Kyle and friends
About: Bill and Kyle, along with crew, brought Odyssey to Mexico in November, 2013, with the Baja-Haha. She now lies in La Paz, BCS. Family and friends will come to share experiences in the Sea of Cortez.
Extra: I am planning to cruise the Sea of Cortez for at least a year, and then maybe do the "puddle jump" to the south pacific.
S/V Odyssey's Photos - Main
These are pics from our ten days in La Paz, including 5 nights at anchor.
28 Photos
Created 21 January 2015
Videos from our trips
No Photos
Created 11 July 2014
6 days at the islands, swimming with whale sharks
87 Photos
Created 16 June 2014
Local Islands near La Paz
11 Photos
Created 27 January 2014
La Paz pictures
No Photos
Created 27 January 2014
Assorted pictures of Odyssey.
3 Photos
Created 4 October 2013
Improvements and upgrades of Odyssey
9 Photos
Created 4 October 2013