S/V Odyssey

1979 CSY 44 Walk-Over, center-cockpit, cutter

01 November 2015 | Home in Calabasas
08 July 2015 | Channel Islands Harbor
08 July 2015 | Dana Point Harbor
08 July 2015 | Kona Kai Marina, San Diego Harbor
08 July 2015 | Marina Coral, Ensenada MX
08 July 2015 | Turtle Bay and north
08 July 2015 | Enroute
08 July 2015 | Enroute to Turtle Bay
08 July 2015 | Enroute to Los Cabos
08 July 2015 | Marina De La Paz
25 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
25 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
10 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
07 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
07 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz
04 June 2015 | Puerto Los Gatos
04 June 2015 | Isla San Francisco at "the Hook" and the north anchorage
04 June 2015 | Isla San Francisco
04 June 2015 | Marina De La Paz, Caleta Lobos

Boat Chores Aboard Odyssey

05 April 2015 | Marina De La Paz
Bill, clear
La Paz
04/02/15

The wind was howling on our first morning in La Paz, so it was cool as I enjoyed my coffee. I sat on Greg's boat Scout, because mine was too dirty to sit on, as I had not yet cleaned it. That is usually the first task when arriving after being away. I don't know where the dirt and dust come from, but they must be scrubbed away, which I accomplished with Greg's help. I installed a couple of new LED lights in the galley that I had brought with me, and completed other minor projects. I ended up going shopping with Liz and Greg (Liz has a car), and then out to dinner at my favorite place, Rancho Viejo. We all needed an early night.

04/03/15
I awoke early and started making plans to climb up the mast. I had two projects at the very top, about 50' up, and two projects halfway up, at the spreaders. I rigged my climbing stuff and gathered all the tools and parts that I thought I might need, and started raising myself up. Greg was next door and keeping an eye on me, and he ended up helping pull me up when I got tired about half way up. Man am I out of shape! When I reached the top of the mast I removed my wind sensor, which had gotten savaged by Hurricane Odile, and no longer worked. While I was up there I removed the old anchor light and replaced it with a brighter LED light, which uses about 1/10 of the electricity. On the way down I installed a proper flag halyard with new line and a pulley. I removed the radar reflector and installed new attachment points above the spreaders. I will re-install it tomorrow in its new location. Back on deck I installed a new longer line the rolls up the forward sail. That was quite the operation. The weather was in the 90s the whole time, so rehydrating was important.

I took my bicycle to try to find a boat-parts store. No luck, as it is a holiday week, Semana Santa. So I hit the big market for some items I missed yesterday. Back at the boat I tried to put away all the tools and parts that I had scattered around. Went next door to Scout for a couple of beers to cool off. I ate on board, and called it an early night. Seems like a pattern is developing with these early nights.

04/04/15
A cool morning, so after coffee I went back up the mast for the last time on this trip. I needed to secure the radar reflector in a new location above the spreader, since I used its previous location for the new flag halyard yesterday. Once I got up there, the breeze died and it became warm and still. So there I was, hanging 30' above the boat sweating like a pig! I finally completed my task and lowered myself down. Next, I put white contact paper on the dark plastic sliding doors in the galley. It really brightens things up. I decided to do laundry, using my bucket and plunger. Pretty soon Odyssey looked like a clothes line, with shirts and shorts hanging all over.

I went for a paddle in the afternoon in an attempt to cool off. I jumped into the water in the main channel of the bay, which was nice at about 75 degrees. Afterwards, I headed over to Scout for a cocktail. One of Greg's friends dropped by, Frank, from the boat Dream Catcher. We all ended up going to dinner across the street at El Cayuco, which had a BBQ rib special going on. They also had a 2 for 1 drink special! The food was great and it was another early night.
Comments
Vessel Name: S/V Odyssey
Vessel Make/Model: Caribbean Sailing Yacht (CSY) 44, W/O
Hailing Port: Ensenada De La Paz, BCS, Mexico
Crew: Bill, Susan, Cody and Kyle and friends
About: Bill and Kyle, along with crew, brought Odyssey to Mexico in November, 2013, with the Baja-Haha. She now lies in La Paz, BCS. Family and friends will come to share experiences in the Sea of Cortez.
Extra: I am planning to cruise the Sea of Cortez for at least a year, and then maybe do the "puddle jump" to the south pacific.
S/V Odyssey's Photos - Main
These are pics from our ten days in La Paz, including 5 nights at anchor.
28 Photos
Created 21 January 2015
Videos from our trips
No Photos
Created 11 July 2014
6 days at the islands, swimming with whale sharks
87 Photos
Created 16 June 2014
Local Islands near La Paz
11 Photos
Created 27 January 2014
La Paz pictures
No Photos
Created 27 January 2014
Assorted pictures of Odyssey.
3 Photos
Created 4 October 2013
Improvements and upgrades of Odyssey
9 Photos
Created 4 October 2013