Okwa Naholo

Turbodog Goes Back To The Bahamas..

29 November 2014
14 November 2014
11 November 2014 | Pass Christian Marina, MS
29 September 2014

It's good to be Turbodog!

11 November 2014 | Pass Christian Marina, MS
Turbodog
They promised they would take me back to the islands and it's happening.. I just know it! I'm back to living on a boat. It's all familiar, just like riding a bike..or so they say.

At first there were a lot of trips between the boat and my house... groceries, dog food and bags being put on it. I had to get a passport, permit and go to that vet place a few times. They say my chart is the biggest there. That's good right!? I am 14 in human years. Then there were a lot of car rides to the marina and we started sleeping on the boat. We went back to Lil Isla a few times and there was a dog named Chica living there. I like her. She'll like it there, it's a pretty cool place. As long as I'm living on a boat, it's all good. I went on a lot of party barge rides too in recent week with plenty of visitors. I fly my ears high in the wind and everyone gets a kick out of that. And boy how people love to pet me! My ears especially because they are sooo soft. It's been pretty cold, especially for a dog with short hair, and lets face it that big black scar on my backside don't help matters but it sure makes for good conversation when out walking. Everyone seems to have had a weiner dog at some time or another. Call me what you like, but I prefer TURBODOG.

I've been seeing alot of familiar faces lately too and hearing a lot of "yall be safe", "gonna miss yall", "post pictures", words like that. Kinda makes me sad.

Every morning they have coffee and get on those computerized machines.. that's when I know it's almost time for me to go for a walk. I stay under my covers till then. I like walks. Seems every new place theres plenty to sniff and discover. And when they leave me to go to the restaurant like they did yesterday, I guard the boat and bark at anyone passing.. it is my home and job after all.

This morning I hear talk about going out to Ship Island this evening. An Island! Yay! I remember them! Then leaving in the wee hours tomorrow for Panama City.. wait.. what? 36 hours? on this boat without going ashore.. ugh.

Time for my walk... It's good to be me!

Turbodog
Comments
Vessel Name: Okwa Naholo
Vessel Make/Model: Pacific Seacraft, 37 ft Crealock
Hailing Port: Bayou Lacombe/New Orleans, Louisiana
Crew: David, Jolie & TurboDog
Extra:
David & Jolie found their home on Bayou Lacombe in 1992 when searching for a place to keep their "future" sailboat. That first sailboat "Gusto" came soon after. A 27 ft Pearson on which many weekends and holidays were spent with friends and family sailing around Lake Ponchartrain, The [...]

Who: David, Jolie & TurboDog
Port: Bayou Lacombe/New Orleans, Louisiana