S/V Adventure

Follow the O'Neil family, sailing in their Catalina 42, on their 2-year sabbatical to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, and Central America, Galapagos, the South Pacific, and New Zealand.

08 June 2012 | Home
05 June 2012 | 100 miles to the Farallons!
02 June 2012 | 475 miles off the coast
31 May 2012 | 579 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 694 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 800 miles to go
29 May 2012 | 915 miles off California
28 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
27 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
26 May 2012 | Halfway between Hawaii and SF
24 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
23 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
22 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
21 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
20 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific
18 September 2011 | Home
07 September 2011 | Crossing the southern tip of the big island
05 September 2011 | Pacific

Merry Christmas from Tara

23 December 2006 | Roseville
Tara
Everyone,
It is so great to hear from you all!! Merry Christmas! I miss you a bunch... Our boat is in Half Moon Bay right now. I threw up 3 times on the way there. (If U are eating while reading this--sorry) I guess watching a movie on high seas isn't the right way to go if you are prone to sea sickness like me... (I knew I shouldn't have eaten that bagel!!!)

I took 3 bus rides, 2 trains, and a ride from my grandma to get home for Christmas. You guys don't know how lucky you are to have cars, not having to pump your toilet in stead of flushing it, sharing a bathroom with your entire family, turning the reserculation pump on before your shower hoping that the propane will keep it hot, or leaving your door open at night only to find in the morning your dad and sister sitting at the table staring at you while you sleep... uggh I miss my bathroom. I know I'm going crazy because... a public toilet (not shower) is considered a blessing, going to a frind or family's house for a day is like being at a five star hotel, if I don't make my bed every morning it is almost impossible to do anything in my room, every time the sewage tank (yuk) gets full, we have to drive the boat to a pump-out dock and suck it (ya know) out, and lastly our fridge is like a hole in the counter: it has a door on the top and a latch. If any thing you want is at the bottom-- you'll have to jump up and fit the first half of your body into it. I sure wish you don't ever have to experience public showering in your life time but if you do- a word of advice: don't touch anything, don't smell the water or touch the soap that is in there (I know it's SOAP but trust me: it's dirty)
Comments
Vessel Name: Adventure
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 42
Hailing Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA
Crew: The O'Neil Family
About: Sean (Captain and Line Man) Kathy (Helmswoman and Cook) Tara - 12 years old at trip start, Casey - 11 years old at trip start (Crew and Students)
Extra: We're on a three-year sabbatical from the daily grind to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, Central America and the South Pacific and stopping at New Zealand.

S/V Adventure

Who: The O'Neil Family
Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA