S/V Adventure

Follow the O'Neil family, sailing in their Catalina 42, on their 2-year sabbatical to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, and Central America, Galapagos, the South Pacific, and New Zealand.

08 June 2012 | Home
05 June 2012 | 100 miles to the Farallons!
02 June 2012 | 475 miles off the coast
31 May 2012 | 579 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 694 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 800 miles to go
29 May 2012 | 915 miles off California
28 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
27 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
26 May 2012 | Halfway between Hawaii and SF
24 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
23 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
22 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
21 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
20 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific
18 September 2011 | Home
07 September 2011 | Crossing the southern tip of the big island
05 September 2011 | Pacific

Only for the Two of Us

21 March 2007 | Pacific Ocean Between Monterey and San Simeon
Kathy
Moonlight exposes many things to the eye, but it also hides some things from view. While traveling over night to San Simeon, the moon was nearly full and lit the way for us. As I did my watch, sometime after midnight I went below to use the head. I kept the lights off so I wouldn't dilate my eyes and make it difficult to see when I went back up on deck. As I flushed (the head draws in fresh sea water to flush), the bowl began to glow with a green florescent color. I immediately knew two things: 1 - what the glow was from and 2 - that I must go wake up Casey so she could also see it.

I knew what the glow was because I saw something similar, but on a much grander scale, when we brought our boat down from Washington, near the Canadian boarder. We had hired Charlie, a seasoned skipper, to captain our newly-bought boat back to our home port in the SF Bay. Sean, my father-in-law, and I were the crew for the 6-day trip. Charlie and I were on the ugly watch (midnight to 4am). We were sailing 20 miles out in the Pacific Ocean on a new moon. It was pitch black and we were trying to stay awake. We had talked about the green glow that followed in the wake of our boat and topped the crest of some of the larger waves. It was caused by phosphorescence, microscopic sea algae that glow when something agitates it.

That night, 8 or 9 dolphins joined us. Since it was pitch black, we would not have been able to see them, but their movements in the water stirred up the phosphorescence and they glowed in the darkness. When they jumped out of the water, they disappeared from our sight because they quit glowing. We hooked onto the jack lines and walked to the bow to watch the show! Kneeling in the bow pulpit, I could have touched the dolphins as the bow descended toward the trough of each wave. After about 1/2 hour, a large glowing mass about the size of an orca came at us fast, amid ship on the port side. Since we were on autopilot and no one was at the helm, there was no way we could have turned to avoid a collision. About a yard or two from our boat, the mass quickly turned and disappeared at our stern. Charlie surmised that it was a school of fish. It was frightening and beautiful at the same time. I told Charlie that it would have been great to get some photos of the whole thing, but he said a camera couldn't capture the light. It was a special sight only for the two us right now.

So, back to the toilet bowl story: having heard my account of the dolphins and schooling fish, Casey really wanted to see phosphorescence. I woke her and she ran into the head with me and I pumped the flusher. Green glowing things entered the bowl. Casey was so excited that she got her camera and tried to take a photo and then a short video of it as I pumped the flusher. Neither method of capture worked. I told her that it was a special sight only for the two of us right now...
Comments
Vessel Name: Adventure
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 42
Hailing Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA
Crew: The O'Neil Family
About: Sean (Captain and Line Man) Kathy (Helmswoman and Cook) Tara - 12 years old at trip start, Casey - 11 years old at trip start (Crew and Students)
Extra: We're on a three-year sabbatical from the daily grind to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, Central America and the South Pacific and stopping at New Zealand.

S/V Adventure

Who: The O'Neil Family
Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA