S/V Adventure

Follow the O'Neil family, sailing in their Catalina 42, on their 2-year sabbatical to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, and Central America, Galapagos, the South Pacific, and New Zealand.

08 June 2012 | Home
05 June 2012 | 100 miles to the Farallons!
02 June 2012 | 475 miles off the coast
31 May 2012 | 579 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 694 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 800 miles to go
29 May 2012 | 915 miles off California
28 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
27 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
26 May 2012 | Halfway between Hawaii and SF
24 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
23 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
22 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
21 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
20 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific
18 September 2011 | Home
07 September 2011 | Crossing the southern tip of the big island
05 September 2011 | Pacific

Up the Mast

05 May 2007 | San Diego, Ca
Casey
"Tara and I are going shopping!" My mother yelled as she climbed onto the boat. "I also need your dirty clothes. I'm going to the Laundry Mat." We all got our clothes and put them in the large, green laundry bags. My mom got her and dad's dirty clothes because my dad was sick. We all went up to our small Rent-A-Car and helped each other put the clothes in the tiny trunk; my dad and I headed back to the boat.

"Ok," my dad said. "You're going up the mast." I did not know what he was talking about. He went up on the deck of the boat and to our dingy that was on top of the boat. He got out a small chair and tied it to a rope (he called it the main halyard). I got in it and he hoisted me up. I went up about half the mast and the wind started blowing real hard. I was swinging back and forth. Dad lifted me up further. I slid a little string through a pulley and he brought me back down. "That was fun!" I yelled.

I went down below and got a drink of water while my dad struggled to get the line through the radar reflector. I came up after drinking my water and he told me that I had to go back up again because he pulled the line out from the pulley. I went down stairs and got a wet cloth and came back up, I was going to clean the spreaders while I was up there. He pulled me back up and I strung the line through the pulley, and then cleaned the spreaders. After a little while I got back down and we went inside and watched a "WKRP in Cincinnati" episode.
Comments
Vessel Name: Adventure
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 42
Hailing Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA
Crew: The O'Neil Family
About: Sean (Captain and Line Man) Kathy (Helmswoman and Cook) Tara - 12 years old at trip start, Casey - 11 years old at trip start (Crew and Students)
Extra: We're on a three-year sabbatical from the daily grind to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, Central America and the South Pacific and stopping at New Zealand.

S/V Adventure

Who: The O'Neil Family
Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA