S/V Adventure

Follow the O'Neil family, sailing in their Catalina 42, on their 2-year sabbatical to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, and Central America, Galapagos, the South Pacific, and New Zealand.

08 June 2012 | Home
05 June 2012 | 100 miles to the Farallons!
02 June 2012 | 475 miles off the coast
31 May 2012 | 579 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 694 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 800 miles to go
29 May 2012 | 915 miles off California
28 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
27 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
26 May 2012 | Halfway between Hawaii and SF
24 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
23 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
22 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
21 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
20 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific
18 September 2011 | Home
07 September 2011 | Crossing the southern tip of the big island
05 September 2011 | Pacific

life raft condemned

06 April 2008 | Flaminco anchorage, Panama
Sean
Our life raft was condemned today. We were given pictures for various sections of the life raft that showed leaks around valves and joints. Our salesman, Alexander, then showed us that we could have a new life raft for a mere 5800 bucks. I swallowed hard. Alexander then showed us a used life raft for a mere 2800 bucks. It, of course had only the most vague details about it: Chinese life raft. Is it an offshore life raft? What does it come with? What does it cost new? I swallowed hard again - my face was turning red. My heart started beating faster.
We told them that we'd think about it. Back at the boat I had some ideas of my own...

"Why don't we just keep our old life raft," I told Kathy matter-of-factly.
"Because it leaks!"
"Humph!" I was not impressed by her answer. "We've been using our life raft successfully for a year and a half. Has it ever let us down? How do we even know that these are pictures of our life raft?" Kathy just stared at me.

"If we start sinking, you'll be sorry that we didn't get a new life raft."

"Hey! We'll have bigger things to worry about if we're sinking." This reply didn't seem to satisfy her. I tried a different tack. "I heard on the net that someone has a 4 person life raft for sale for 300 bucks. Let's buy that."

"Isn't that too small? I don't think we'll all fit."

"Sure! But it's only 300 bucks. It's a good deal." I really like good deals.

"Do you think it'll be a good deal if we sink and can't all fit?" Kathy was getting sarcastic.

"But we'll probably never use it! I tell you what - I'll go down with the ship. That's what the captain's supposed to do anyway. That'll be enough room for everyone."

Casey not really hearing the conversation shouts from her bedroom, "Hey! I'm the Captain!"

I looked at Kathy and said, "Fine, Casey can go down with the ship." Kathy started nodding her head slowly. I could think of lots of cool things to do with 3K. I appealed to Kathy's vanity. "Come on! I can get a hair transplant for that kind of money! Think about it baby -- HAIR!"

"I don't know honey." She was sweet talking me now. I was doomed. "I think we shouldn't be cheap here."
"Fine." The conversation was over. We're getting a new life raft and that's that. We're trying to leave here next week so we'll have to think of something fast.
If anyone wants to contribute to Sean's hair transplant fund please let me know.
Comments
Vessel Name: Adventure
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 42
Hailing Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA
Crew: The O'Neil Family
About: Sean (Captain and Line Man) Kathy (Helmswoman and Cook) Tara - 12 years old at trip start, Casey - 11 years old at trip start (Crew and Students)
Extra: We're on a three-year sabbatical from the daily grind to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, Central America and the South Pacific and stopping at New Zealand.

S/V Adventure

Who: The O'Neil Family
Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA