S/V Adventure

Follow the O'Neil family, sailing in their Catalina 42, on their 2-year sabbatical to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, and Central America, Galapagos, the South Pacific, and New Zealand.

08 June 2012 | Home
05 June 2012 | 100 miles to the Farallons!
02 June 2012 | 475 miles off the coast
31 May 2012 | 579 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 694 miles to go
30 May 2012 | 800 miles to go
29 May 2012 | 915 miles off California
28 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
27 May 2012 | Past halfway between Hawaii and SF
26 May 2012 | Halfway between Hawaii and SF
24 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
23 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
22 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
21 May 2012 | Middle of the Pacific Ocean
20 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific Gyre
16 May 2012 | Pacific
18 September 2011 | Home
07 September 2011 | Crossing the southern tip of the big island
05 September 2011 | Pacific

How Green was my Meadow

12 July 2008 | To Rangiora
Sean
I was happy. I was in a meadow and frolicking in the tall grass. I could feel the warm sun on my back. I had my hands in the air and a huge smile on my face.
"SEAN!"
What is that noise, I thought as I stopped in the middle of the meadow.
"SEAN!"
The meadow implodes into darkness. I opened my eyes and noticed that a strange woman was holding my right leg.
"SEAN! Wake up! There's a HUGE squall coming. I think we need to take in the jib."
Reality was quickly returning to me. It was as if I was Keanu Reeves being reborn in the Matrix. The world was dark, and cold. There were loud noises of lines banging on the mast. Adventure would roll to starboard and I'd feel my face shoved down into the mattress as if I was being pinned by some bully. (I've had lots of experience with this.) I lifted my head and tried to reorient myself. I was sleeping sideways on the bed, my feet pressed against the leecloth so that I wouldn't be thrown out of bed.
BOOM! A huge swell just hit Adventure on her port side. It feels as if we hit something large (like a whale). Sea water gushes over the bow.

I pull myself out of bed and work my way to the cockpit. Each step is difficult; the boat is rolling wildly. I try to grab onto anything so that I'm not thrown across the boat. My head still isn't clear. Most of me just wants to go back to the meadow. I force myself to keep moving.

Kathy is waiting for me outside. It's raining now. Rainy, windy, and cold.
I go to the roller furling line for the jib and Kathy releases the jib sheet. I struggle with all of my weight to get the jib to furl. Slowly it comes. My clothes are soaked; rain is pouring all over me.
BOOM! A wall of sea water comes over the boat and hits my face.

It's 2:15 am and Kathy's had it. Her shift is over.
"I'll see you in a couple of hours," she says very unsympathetically and then disappears below.

I do a quick check on the radar and then go below to get out of the rain. I lay down; close my eyes; and listen. I listen to all the noises: banging lines, autopilot straining to control the rudder, main sail fluttering, wind howling, and rain pounding. I sing songs to myself and pray for the seas to abide. Oh, how I miss the meadow...
Comments
Vessel Name: Adventure
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 42
Hailing Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA
Crew: The O'Neil Family
About: Sean (Captain and Line Man) Kathy (Helmswoman and Cook) Tara - 12 years old at trip start, Casey - 11 years old at trip start (Crew and Students)
Extra: We're on a three-year sabbatical from the daily grind to see the Pacific coast of the US, Mexico, Central America and the South Pacific and stopping at New Zealand.

S/V Adventure

Who: The O'Neil Family
Port: Marina Bay, Richmond CA