Share in Our Adventures with SV ORION

19 September 2014
22 March 2014 | Sidney, B.C.
20 October 2013
14 October 2013 | Victoria, BC
21 February 2013
21 January 2013
30 December 2012
04 November 2012
19 October 2012
18 September 2012
25 July 2012
27 June 2012 | Victoria, B.C.
06 June 2012
27 April 2012
23 March 2012

The Purge is on!!!!!

20 October 2013
Living aboard a sailboat with the two of us sharing a very small closet often means staying on top of clutter. Darren has always been so good at this, which I admire, while it continues to be my challenge. I tend to just pull and shove when I put things back on my shelves, so no surprise that it starts to look like mayhem. I try very hard to practice the "bring one aboard, lose one" motto, but bringing things aboard becomes very insidious. When you have both of us doing that, it's not long before things get cluttered and at times seeming out of control! Thankfully we are very compatible in that we both dislike clutter and appreciate living within tidy surroundings.

Embarrassing to admit, Darren has been tripping over my "stuff" throughout the boat, and I assured him I would tend to this while he was out of town. In all honesty, I was tripping over my stuff too, but turning a blind eye to it as this fall weather has been so nice! If the sun is out, my kayak calls, dog walks, time with friends etc. You get the idea.

So.......the time had arrived and I had two weekends to accomplish this daunting task. Last weekend was so beautiful that there was no way I was spending it indoors! This past week I secretly hoped for not so nice weather and this weekend worked out beautifully for me. The fog rolled in, and only improved to be high clouds and grey.

The Purge is on, yippee! As proof in the photo, from our closet alone I purged 24 items from my clothing! This doesn't include magazines, recipes and other misc stuff that I removed too. You probably find it funny that I counted them, but in living with our motto above - I now have 24 items to my credit to bring aboard!

Obviously we don't stick to our motto item per item, or I would never have to be faced with a large purge in the first place, but I do enjoy teasing Darren!!
Comments
Vessel Name: Orion
Vessel Make/Model: '38 Dencho Choate
Hailing Port: Victoria, B.C.
Crew: Darren & Cindy, & our adventurous dog Missy!
About: Come share in our living aboard adventures while we work to fund our extended cruising kitty!
Extra: **Comments on our blog posts are encouraged, as we LOVE to read them!

WELCOME ABOARD!

Who: Darren & Cindy, & our adventurous dog Missy!
Port: Victoria, B.C.