Pacific Hwy

10 January 2017 | Lechinioch
15 March 2016 | Sydney Australia
23 April 2015 | Majuro, Marshall Islands
08 November 2014 | Tarawa, Kiribati, Middle of the Pacific Ocean
04 October 2014 | Fiji
19 February 2014
20 August 2013
28 July 2013
20 May 2013 | French Polynesia
19 May 2013
11 May 2013
11 April 2013
10 April 2013 | Latitude 00.00
07 March 2013 | Banderas Bay
02 February 2013 | Nuevo Vallarta
21 January 2013 | Mexican Riviera
09 January 2013 | Chamela Bay

String Theory

16 October 2012
When I was 9 years old I was very lucky to have an 84 year old neighbor, Viola Hull, who invited me into her house and showed me all the treasures of her long life. "I was a Centenial baby," she told me, which meant she was born in 1876. Besides sharing all her memorabilia, she taught me to sew on her Singer treadle machine, and also taught me to knit and crochet. The fact that her eysight was good enough to make a pair of socks on four wiry needles and fine yarn amazes me to this day.

When I learned to sail at age 26 I always had a keen eye for fair leads. I attributed this to my experience with string. Afer all, line (rope) on a boat is just a different kind of string. I loved the turks heads and various knots that were the mark of an experienced mariner.

Fast forward to 2012. My lastest project was splicing Spectra, a new kind of line that can replace stainless steel wire.

Also, we 'end or ended' our halyards and I was put in charge of making the eye splices in the new ends. Bruce gave me the instructions, which he had kept from 1978 when he bought his schooner and set out to be a boat captain. Tomorrow I'll make us a new bridle. I could do this kind of work all day. I am not artistic so this is the closest I'll ever get to being an artisan.



But the real reason for this blog is that I went to a workshop on St. John about five years ago, sponsored by the Friends of the National Park, that was about recycling trash bags. You know, the kind that you get at the grocery store. We were taught a technique for cutting these bags into a continuous string, and then crocheting them into purses or shopping bags. My kind of project! I played with this, making some very ugly bags and change purses. But I really found my niche making new coozies for drink cans and bottles. All the coozies we had on our boat were made out of neoprene and they would eventually turn black with mildew. I started making coozies with different patterns (stripes and swirls) and bright colors from our travels throughout the Caribbean.

When we bought our current boat, Pacific Hwy, the interior color scheme was a plaid of red, dark blue, and tan. We were doing our grocery shopping at a nearby Albertson's which has grocery bags in these same colors. I started making coozies and finally found my groove.

So here I proudly present my drink coozies, made with Albertson's bags and accented with TJ max or World Market. I've made about six, which is as many as we need, so place your order now and I'll be happy to make some for you whenever we are off-shore and I need a good project. Maybe it's adult ADD, maybe it's recycling. Whatever. Thank you, Mrs. Hull, I love you.
Comments
Vessel Name: Pacific Hwy
Vessel Make/Model: Davidson 44
Hailing Port: St. John, USVI
Crew: Bruce and Laura Masterson
About: After 30 years sailing the Caribbean and the Atlantic, we are checking out the 'Left Coast" and the Pacific.
Extra: Our boat was previous named Pacific Coast Hwy. We have renamed her Pacific Hwy and plan to leave the coast behind.
Pacific Hwy's Photos - Main
24 Photos
Created 15 March 2016
6 Photos
Created 9 November 2014
8 Photos
Created 8 October 2014
Bruce and I spent 17 days car-camping throughout NZ. Here are some photos from the trip.
56 Photos
Created 19 February 2014
6 Photos
Created 20 August 2013
4 Photos
Created 13 May 2013