How to make "Ice Cream" on board

For more frequent updates please follow our regular blog at pacificsailors.com



Who doesn't love ice cream? We sure do, but our freezer will not keep it frozen in this heat so I had to figure out a better way to get our fix.

Sorbet is a super-easy and fun treat to make on a boat. Pretty much any fruit can be used. Raspberry-Banana is always a winner, as is Banana with some chunks of dark chocolate. Here I use fresh mangos.

Don't over-freeze sorbet as you want it to be the consistency of a nice smooth gelato. I pour the sorbet into small ziplock bags and stick them right onto the evaporator plate of our freezer for a few hours. When I'm ready to serve I knead the bag until the sorbet is smooth. Then I cut a small corner into the bag and squeeze the sorbet into a bowl.

I use my stick blender to mix up the sorbet. It works well on the inverter and doesn't take up much space.

1-2 ripe Mangos or other fruit
2 Tablespoons Honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
1-3 limes* or lemon to taste

Whip everything together with a blender, food processor or stick-blender. Add more of any ingredient to taste. Pour into ziplock bag. Freeze.

* I use the tiny Mexican limes so add regular sized limes/lemons slowly











Comments