The Cruise of the Peking

03 October 2011
03 October 2011 | Boquete, Panama
03 October 2011 | Boquete, Panama
25 January 2011
19 January 2011 | Cartagena, Colombia
17 January 2011
14 January 2011 | Cartagena
23 December 2010
22 December 2010 | Cartagena, Colombia
12 December 2010
08 December 2010 | Curacao
02 December 2010 | Bonaire N.A.
02 December 2010 | Bonaire N.A.
02 December 2010 | Bonaire N.A.
01 December 2010 | Bonaire N.A.
01 December 2010 | Trinidad to Bonaire
25 November 2010 | Cayo Herradura
24 November 2010 | Venezuela
14 November 2010 | Venezuela
14 November 2010 | Isla Margarita

The island of Culebra

30 May 2010 | Puerto Rico
Jerie
The Island of Culebra

We had planned to stay in Culebra for a couple of days but Mother Nature had other plans. Yes Peking is a mighty 33 ton trawler equipped with paravanes and ready for the open sea but John and Jerie are not ready to be uncomfortable. We decided that we don't have to put ourselves in seas over 5 feet or experience winds in excess of 25 knots. So we have stayed put in the darling island of Culebra.. The people are very friendly, the beaches beautiful and the anchorage is protected. We have visited the library, caught up on local gossip, walked the beaches and had some very nice meals. We can leave on Monday- only on Monday according to Chris Parker, the weather guru, so off we will go to the Virgin Islands. Culebra is a place we would like to visit again.
Meanwhile, people often ask me what do I do to keep busy. In the Bahamas, my friend Mary Lou introduced me to basket weaving . I know what you are thinking: you got all those college and graduate degrees so that you wouldn't have to weave baskets. Well, I like weaving and somehow wished I had had more training in my past life so that I could do it better. I use the silver tips fronds that Mary Lou says you can only find in the Bahamas. John doubts this but I haven't seen the same kind outside of the Bahamas. I am enclosing some of my work. They each take a lot of "seat" time which might have been the cause of an awfully sore hip joint for a period of time. I am now out of fronds and doing a lot more walking and the hip has recovered.
We are enjoying the beaches looking for sea glass and seeds from Africa. John is really into it and has a great eye for finding both glass and seeds.
Comments
Vessel Name: Peking
Vessel Make/Model: Diesel Duck 46+2
Hailing Port: Southport, Ct
Crew: Jerie & John
About: John and Jerie retired June 26, 2009 from Law and Education. They are cruising in the Carribean. They spent the first hurracan season in Trinidad. They are now heading west.

The Cruise of the Peking

Who: Jerie & John
Port: Southport, Ct