Phambili's Progress

07 September 2011 | Canoe Cove, Vancouver Island
28 August 2011 | Entering Juan de Fuca straight - 48* 25 N 124*36 W
27 August 2011 | 60 miles from Cape Flattery
26 August 2011 | 200 miles from Cape Flattery
24 August 2011 | 400 miles from Cape Flattery
23 August 2011 | Five hundred fifty to Flattery
22 August 2011 | Still on the 41st parallel, North East Pacific
21 August 2011 | 41st Parallel North Pacific
18 August 2011 | 1150 miles North of Hilo
18 August 2011 | 1150 miles North of Hilo
16 August 2011 | 1000 miles North of Hilo
15 August 2011 | 800 miles North of Hilo
13 August 2011 | 680 miles and 5 days north of Hilo
12 August 2011 | 500 miles north of Hilo
11 August 2011 | 400 miles north of Hilo
10 August 2011 | 232miles north of Hilo
09 August 2011 | 132 miles out of Hilo
30 July 2011 | Hilo, Hawaii
27 July 2011 | 250 miles from Hilo, Hawaii
26 July 2011 | 15 Degrees North-Tahiti to Hawaii

Almost there!

28 August 2011 | Entering Juan de Fuca straight - 48* 25 N 124*36 W
Naomi
We are motor sailing along at 5 knots into the Juan de Fuca straight. Dad managed to get the starboard engine going, he thinks he might have fixed the problem but we're not 100 percent sure On our starboard side, we can see Neah bay; we've come in a full circle! It's so wierd to think that it's been a whole year since we were last here. Everything seems so familiar. Earlier on in the day I saw a big pile of kelp and it really made me think 'Oh! We really are here!' Also, the water has changed from clear and light blue to a thick matte redish dark grey colour.

This afternoon mom and I worked on my pig pyjama's. Half way through, when I just finished hemming one pant leg, Dad called to say that he needed me to go up the mast to get the end of a lazy jack that had come loose and got pulled up the mast yesterday. It was so scary up there because you feel the motion way more then on the ground. I was clinging to the mast for dear life. I felt like the little cloth chair thing wouldn't me if I let go. Eventually, I did have to let go with one hand to bring the lazy jack around the spreaders and attach it to me. Even then I was swinging around alot. If I had let go with both hands I would have been swinging back and forth like crazy. Once I was safely back on the ground it felt a lot less scary. Mom and I went back to pinning the next hem for my pyjama's. But then Neen came back inside to tell me that I actually hadn't go brought the rope around one tiny string and I had to go up the mast again. It was annoying that it was just one tiny string that had gotten in the way, but I really didn't mind very much because it's fun to go up the mast. Soon after, we finish my pyjama's. I think they turned out all right except they are a liitle bit wide.

In the morning at about ten o'clock mom made us a delicious egg and bacon breakfast to celebrate us being so close to land. After breakfast we actually saw land for the first time. I was looking out and I saw something that looked suspiciously like snow covered peeks. Since I wasn't sure that it wasn't just clouds I called everyone and asked them what they thought. They all agreed with me that it looked like land. I shouted Land Ho! Which is what I'm always excited to say :).
Comments
Vessel Name: Phambili
Hailing Port: Victoria Canada
Crew: Tommy, Fiona, Annina, Naomi and Cameron

Who: Tommy, Fiona, Annina, Naomi and Cameron
Port: Victoria Canada