It's a Dog's Life

Travelling the Caribbean with a dog named Princess.

14 March 2012 | St. Maartin
06 June 2011 | St. Lucia
04 June 2011 | St. Lucia
15 May 2011
15 March 2011 | St. Maarten
27 October 2010 | Prickly Bay
01 September 2010 | Port Louis Marina, St. George's
30 July 2010 | Prickly Bay, Grenada
07 July 2010 | Princkly Bay, Grenada
24 June 2010 | Prickly Bay
20 June 2010
11 June 2010 | Bequia
31 May 2010 | Rodney Bay

Long time since I wrote...

15 March 2011 | St. Maarten
Princess
Hello Everyone!!!

Oh my Dog!! It's been a long time since I wrote! All of you must be waiting with panting breathe to hear of my adventures!

We arrived in St. Maarten just before Christmas last year and had absolutely no time for shopping. It was great however, because we had a nice dinner aboard with my best friends, Bill and BB. Lots of leftovers.....

Since the new year, we have just been working on the boat and fixing things. NOT ME, of course. I just lounge around while the crew get their act together. It seems to take them a lot of time though, and I think they need a little prodding. Only this morning, I had to wait an interminable time while they dealt with "head" issues. Personally, I don't have any of those problems as my head has always been just fine, thank you. They have been a little stretched though. There have been no end of things (minor, in my estimation) going south and it seems to cause a lot of running around to Island Waterworld, Budget Marine, Electec, ... Sometimes several times a day! For me those are good days because I get to land a lot and meet new friends. Everyone is glad to meet me, afterall I AM A PRINCESS.

Unfortunately, I was very sick for a while with something called "Tick Fever". I take my medications every month to prevent something like that but somehow got it anyway. Don't worry, I am fine now after the 3 wks. of antibiotics. During that time we had some Cdn. friends for a visit and they did much to relieve my distress. It was so nice to have good friends aboard! I think I'll include some pictures of our happy visit (see Gallery). They were great people to have aboard and I hope they come again soon.

The dinghy is still not my friend. Sat. evening we all went tumbling overboard in the lagoon, kind of fast, like dominoes. Apparently it was my fault that She tripped over me and then I fell in and then She tried to catch me and then fell in and then He tried to catch Her and fell in. Plonk, plonk, plonk. Getting back into the dinghy was a bit of a problem for all of us but fortunately the staff at Simpson Bay Marina are alert and very strong! It took many showers to get rid of the lagoon flotsam and jetsam afterward and still it gives me the quivers.

THEN, 2 days later, She had some more injuries leaving the dinghy. Imagine, at the same place that the dinghy motor ravaged Her leg, She almost got done again! What a KLUTZ!! Honestly. I need to replace her and get someone more agile.

So that's about it in a nut shell. Next week we head to land for a 14 day stint and I am looking forward to long walks, lots of beach time and swimming, and air conditioned comfort. OH MY! Heaven!

Vessel Name: Princess of Tides
Vessel Make/Model: Knysna 44
Hailing Port: Killarney Ont.
Crew: Christina, Guy and of course, the Princess
About: Christina and Guy are two A type personalities jointly captaining Princess of Tides. Princess is a princess and is our destination director.
Extra: Results: intresting moments and colourful exchanges.

Who: Christina, Guy and of course, the Princess
Port: Killarney Ont.