09 August 2010 | Port Angeles, WA
30 July 2010 | Port Angeles, WA - still
24 July 2010 | Port Angeles, WA
22 July 2010 | Port Angeles, WA
17 July 2010 | Port angeles, WA
16 July 2010 | Port Angeles, WA
13 July 2010 | Port Angeles, Wa
11 July 2010 | Port Angeles, Wa
10 July 2010 | Port Angeles, WA
10 July 2010 | Port Angeles, WA
08 July 2010 | Port Angeles, Wa (duh)
07 July 2010 | Victoria Harbor
05 July 2010 | Victoria B.C.
03 July 2010 | Roche Harbor San Juan Islands
30 June 2010 | Bedwell Harbor Poet's Cove Resort
28 June 2010 | MBVIBC
27 June 2010 | Maple Bay (still) but headed up to Chemanis
25 June 2010 | Maple Bay

And I thought we had repair problems!

07 January 2010 | Ray here
Couldn't resist this picture...gives a whole new meaning to "running a ground." I'm thinking about buying this boat and changing it into a hotel...way cool...built in ocean..well ventilated...or maybe I could just sell it off as a fixer-upper.


Okay, back to reality...

So, we're a few days into the new year and the weather's really been nice the last few days...(word is, the rest of the nation is frozen solid but we win the prize for the highest temperatures in the country...even above Florida!!! Way weird!).

We started walking again today...I figure we did like...100 to 200 miles but Sandy says it was probably more like 2 or 3...all I know is...I'm going to need to take the rest of the week off...as like...some of it was uphill! Seriously thought about catching a bus, (or calling and ambulance) on the way back, but since I have neither a bus card, (nor insurance)...or any money ever since Social Security told me I didn't deserve anything 'cause their records cannot substantiate that I ever worked)...as a result...it was suggested that I probably should sit by the road and wait until I was healed enough to make it on home. So...let's see...if I'm retired...and retirement is my job...and I can't make it home because I'm all tired and stuff...shouldn't that qualify me for a disability? I'm checking the manuals now for "Can't-make-it home-type-disability." So far...not so good.

Okay, so that didn't work out as well as I planned and we're back home again...and I've vowed I'll never go outside again. Currently we're thinking about working some on the boat (actually I'm still working on thinking about it...Sandy's been working on the boat right along)...In truth I don't dare do too much for fear of losing any chance I have of getting my can't- make-it-home disability payments...it looks like planning is about all I dare do for now...I'm sure that any kind of actual work would really mess things up...On a more postive side... We've kind of decided to head up to Desolation Sound in upper middle of Vancouver Island (on the mainland side)...starting in May. This is our new spring/summer-time journey thing or so it's planned. I told Sandy I thought we would probably need a gun or two if we're really going that far up north...I'm thinking, "that's way up in the wilderness and they have bears and elk, and other stuff that eat people (not to mention the killer crabs and clams!)"...So I'm thinking maybe I can talk her into a like a 12 gauge or maybe even a deck mounted 20mm cannon ...you know...just something just to keep the pelicans from attacking us in our sleep. Anyway, now I'm motivated and should stay that way (until it gets cold again). The truth is when the cold comes, I just want to make like a bear and hibernate until it's over...I've even suggested we start going more often into the Poulsbo bakery and packing on some doughnut calories and coming back and watching TV...you know...just until spring. (I kind of sense that Sandy feels there wouldn't really be any real change to my current lifestyle). I'm just feeling like I need a break from retirement again...you know...sort of retiring from retirement...I'd put in for it but I'm too tired right now.

Okay...'nuff for now...I'll try to be less serious tomorrow.

Comments
Vessel Name: Pure Joy
Vessel Make/Model: Islander Freeport 41
Hailing Port: Seattle, Washington USA
Crew: Co-Captains Ray and Sandy
About:
Retired July '09. This is our second sailboat together. Before, Sandy had a Morgan '38 which she sailed from Port Angeles around Puget Sound. Sandy has motored to Mexico in the 70's...and lived and worked on her own boat for 3 years in Alaska. [...]
Extra: We are happy to report we are actually doing exactly what we really really really really really want to do...(short of winning the lottery of couse :)...in any case...it's PURE JOY! HF Contact: KF7IDH

Sailing the Dream

Who: Co-Captains Ray and Sandy
Port: Seattle, Washington USA