My Sailing Experiences

18 May 2009
11 May 2009
25 April 2009
23 April 2009
20 April 2009
18 April 2009
10 April 2009
30 March 2009
23 March 2009
17 March 2009
12 March 2009
26 February 2009
24 October 2008
10 October 2008
03 October 2008

Thursday Night Race

03 October 2008
I went to sail with the crew from Davis Island for the Thursday Night Races. It was a breezy afternoon with a constant 10-12 knot winds and a light chop on the water. We had a good amount of crew so I did what I could on the Foredeck. I did take advantage of asking Dave, who was the guy that got me on this crew, some more questions about sailing and confirmation on what I believed. He has been sailing for many years and I don't think you could ask for a better way to learn then from such an experienced person.

Although I didn't get to do much, it felt worth having the time to pick Dave's brain about sail trim and wind conditions. He also asks me questions that make you think things through so you can answer the questions correctly. I've quickly learned that sailing with good wind is not that hard and almost anyone with basic sense can sail, but sailing in light or heavy winds is when knowledge of sail trim is valuable. In light winds, it can be extremely boring and long if you can't maximize whatever breeze comes to get you moving. You quickly learn to study the water for puffs and how best to trim the sails to take advantage of anything. In heavy winds, its very important to know how to adjust for the simple reason of safety and comfort.

I took notice the other day that it has only been about 2 1/2 months since I took the lessons and started sailing. I realize now that I have learned a lot in such a short time, that reading and asking experienced sailors questions is so valuable.

The Thursday Night Races come to a close for the season on Oct 23, which is 3 weeks away. Although I am not crazy for the racing, the time I have spent with the crew and on the boat has gotten me so far ahead on the learning curve. Now with the fall season upon us, I am looking forward to more time with the boats at the Sailing Center. Spending time there will continue to allow me the ability to fine tuning my skills and enjoying the great weather Florida offers this time of year. Weather and winds for this coming weekend are forecast to be great so hopefully I can make it out on Sunday.
Comments
Vessel Name: Havana
Hailing Port: Tampa, Florida
Crew: Ramon
About:
I am 38 years old and started sailing in 2008. I took sailing classes and started sailing from from the St. Petersburg Sailing Center and got involved with as crew for the Thursday Night Races at Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa. [...]

Who: Ramon
Port: Tampa, Florida