My Sailing Experiences

18 May 2009
11 May 2009
25 April 2009
23 April 2009
20 April 2009
18 April 2009
10 April 2009
30 March 2009
23 March 2009
17 March 2009
12 March 2009
26 February 2009
24 October 2008
10 October 2008
03 October 2008

Back on the Water

12 March 2009
Tonight was our first Thursday Night sail of the season. I caught up with the group that I sailed with last season and they welcomed me aboard again. It was an excellent race with the sun setting and a great breeze to make it interesting but not rough. There were several new people along for the first time and only a few of the guys from last year. I wouldn't consider myself confident in all aspects but given the limited crew, I was considered one of the more experienced in the bunch, per the skipper who assigned duties.

That being said, I was given the job of Jib trimmer and I was glad to get some practice time trimming the Jib and keeping watch on the telltales. On our downwind run I was the sheet trimmer for the Spinnaker sail and was real happy with my efforts there. All in all it was a great time and great to be back on a boat. I found that I had not forgotten anything and it was great to get a refresher. Next week the serious racing starts again. I'm looking forward to a great sailing season.

I am going to try and make some more friends around the club to see if there are some boats that need crew on other sailing outings. I also plan to come and get on as crew during the Sunday Races as well.
Comments
Vessel Name: Havana
Hailing Port: Tampa, Florida
Crew: Ramon
About:
I am 38 years old and started sailing in 2008. I took sailing classes and started sailing from from the St. Petersburg Sailing Center and got involved with as crew for the Thursday Night Races at Davis Island Yacht Club in Tampa. [...]

Who: Ramon
Port: Tampa, Florida