Adventure of a lifetime

Sailing round the world....slowly

Salerno

A fantastic place to anchor, good holding in mud dropped in 6m, and very well protected from the stronger northerlies we had. Would be exposed if anything came in from the south.
Stayed a couple of nights as Nicole and i caught the train up to Pompeii for the day. I had been before so just Nicole went in to see the ruins.
The Salerno Cathedral was a highlight for me. The building itself is unassuming from the outside but inside its beautiful. And then you go down into the Crypt were St Matthew's remains are kept and it takes your breath away. The painting on the roof and all the walls are exquisite. I think it is on par with the Sistine Chapel, just not painted by anyone famous, and therefore very few tourists. I stumbled on it really, its not well advertised and we should keep it that way.
We made friends with the bar staff at a bar called Embarcadero. Chatted for ages and he made me my own cocktail. Sweet, fruity and not much alcohol were the only specifications i gave. It was delicious, but I'd hate to get one with the normal amount of alcohol.
Probably sacrilegious, but we had a very tasty dinner at an Indian restaurant. Pizza is great, but we were after something different

Comments