Da rockin SHAMROCK

I have changed the name of my yacht from Susan to Shamrock

18 October 2010 | Simons Town
13 July 2010 | Simons Town
17 May 2010 | Simons Town
05 May 2010 | Simons Town
15 April 2010 | Simons Town
30 March 2010 | Simons Town
09 March 2010 | Simons Town
11 February 2010 | Simon's Town
01 February 2010 | Simons Town
02 December 2009 | Simons Town
09 November 2009 | Simons's Town
27 October 2009 | Simon's Town
13 October 2009 | Simons Town
11 September 2009 | Simon's Town
31 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 July 2009 | Simon's Town
17 July 2009 | Dublin
22 June 2009 | Simon's Town
08 June 2009 | Simons Town

Roller reefing

31 August 2009 | Simon's Town
Mike Connolly ; fine
Hi, after the incident last weekend with the temporary staysail acting as a Genoa blowing out, I set about looking for a more permanent solution for Shamrock. I found an ad on the yacht club notice board offering second hand sails one of which was aroller furling genoa from a 34 ft boat. Couldnt be too far off the mark I thought to myself.
The number on the ad ditnt work and eventually I discovered that the last two numbers inverted. Dooh Anywho I eventually tracked down the lady selling these sails and managed to get the Genny yesterday for a test fit. Unfortunatley it was gusting badly yesterday afternoon, so it the fit was delayed until I can fit it in with the work schedule. On first glance the sail in is great condition but may be a tad too small, but I may have to live with it in the interim and get it lengthened at a later stage.

Other bits and bobs completed over the weekend included drilling out of the the old rivets whoich held in the radar cable up the mast. Have to make a plan to get the radar swcanner and bracket down from the mast one of these days as this is dragging. Didnt get the new for'ad bilge pump fitted yet...
Did however fit a new multi plug adapter which will make shore power a bit easier to manage.

Comments
Vessel Name: Shamrock
Vessel Make/Model: Fortuna 37
Hailing Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town
Crew: Mike Connolly
About: My daughter Storm and Wife Niki
Extra: I am starting to restore a Fortuna 37 here in Cape Town. I have been involved in the refurbishment of several yachts working up from a 22 foot Viking to a 23 Foot Buccaneer to a 25 foot Flemenca (and also a 20 Foot Vivacity) to end up with Susan a 37 foot Fortuna

Restoration of my Fortuna 37

Who: Mike Connolly
Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town