Da rockin SHAMROCK

I have changed the name of my yacht from Susan to Shamrock

18 October 2010 | Simons Town
13 July 2010 | Simons Town
17 May 2010 | Simons Town
05 May 2010 | Simons Town
15 April 2010 | Simons Town
30 March 2010 | Simons Town
09 March 2010 | Simons Town
11 February 2010 | Simon's Town
01 February 2010 | Simons Town
02 December 2009 | Simons Town
09 November 2009 | Simons's Town
27 October 2009 | Simon's Town
13 October 2009 | Simons Town
11 September 2009 | Simon's Town
31 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 July 2009 | Simon's Town
17 July 2009 | Dublin
22 June 2009 | Simon's Town
08 June 2009 | Simons Town

Summer Holidays

05 January 2009 | Cape Town
Mike Connolly. Sunny, fresh s'easter
Well its been a while since I have put anything into my blog on Susan. I have taken my annual summer vacation at Christmas time (here in the southern hemisphere it summer over Christmas/New Year). Interestingly enough I saw one of the other bloggers on this ISP in the Royal Cape Yacht Club yesterday in the Spirit of Mystery. Nice to actually see somebody after reading their blog for some time.
As for Susan, I havent had much time available to work on her recently but did manage two days over the past weekend and have started to make some progress. The difficulty I have had with my propshaft may link back to a change which had been made previously to replace the rubber dounut in the drive train with a solid engineering nylon block machined out to fit. The problem with this is that their is no flexibility in the drave train whatsoever which lead to the snapping of the shearpin. Well I guess you could call it a shearpin but in reality it is more like a thin narrow bolt. Certainly not up to managing to attach a 50HP diesel engine to a propellor. We after taking some advice I have decided to chop out the old nylon block and replace it with the proper unit. It was a mission to chop out the old nylon block as soem of the bolt heads had been damaged by the previous owner and I ended up grinding out two of the six bolts. I now have the unit out and plan to visit the suppliers and see what I can replace it with. Other than that I am getting some canvas work done to improve the boats appearance and am also busy with some bilge pump maintenance.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shamrock
Vessel Make/Model: Fortuna 37
Hailing Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town
Crew: Mike Connolly
About: My daughter Storm and Wife Niki
Extra: I am starting to restore a Fortuna 37 here in Cape Town. I have been involved in the refurbishment of several yachts working up from a 22 foot Viking to a 23 Foot Buccaneer to a 25 foot Flemenca (and also a 20 Foot Vivacity) to end up with Susan a 37 foot Fortuna

Restoration of my Fortuna 37

Who: Mike Connolly
Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town