Da rockin SHAMROCK

I have changed the name of my yacht from Susan to Shamrock

18 October 2010 | Simons Town
13 July 2010 | Simons Town
17 May 2010 | Simons Town
05 May 2010 | Simons Town
15 April 2010 | Simons Town
30 March 2010 | Simons Town
09 March 2010 | Simons Town
11 February 2010 | Simon's Town
01 February 2010 | Simons Town
02 December 2009 | Simons Town
09 November 2009 | Simons's Town
27 October 2009 | Simon's Town
13 October 2009 | Simons Town
11 September 2009 | Simon's Town
31 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 July 2009 | Simon's Town
17 July 2009 | Dublin
22 June 2009 | Simon's Town
08 June 2009 | Simons Town

Weekend work

19 January 2009 | Cape Town
Mike Connolly
New picture of the boat in all her new canvas gear. Im very pleased with her new appearance after the work completed. Pity about the paint condition on the hull!
Anyway managed to get quite a bit of work done on Susan this past weekend. Started out with fitting the refurbished bilge pump and re routing the water inlet pipe. I still need to do some more fiddling with this as I am not happy with where the pipe draws from and in thinking about it will probably fit an extension into the engine bilge sump as that is the area I cam concerned about.
I also managed to get the new stack pack fully fittted and in place. What a mission. I must have been up the mast about 8 times in all getting the ropes and blocks in the right place and running free. A word of advice dont tyr this solo and it takes three times as long as it would with soembody assisting.
After that I managed to collect all the goodies which will enable me to apply for a safety certificate later this week. I also refilled my gas tank and managed to discover where the gas pipline tap is hidden. Behind the stove and in a little hole and only accessable when the stove is pulled out, which can only be achieved when an almost invisible pin is removed between the side of the stove the the counter top.
More success with the diesel tank fitting and I think just two small straps to secure the tank and I can repanel the bunk where it sits beneath. All fitting and breathers were connected. I must fill the tank now and record the filling on my hi tech furl measuing stick. Very sophisticaed stuff. Interestingly enough the supply of the tank offered me a fuel gauge for my new tank which was more expensive the the tank itself! The stick is suitable for the more robust user and also wont use any power. Managed to fabricate a mounting bracket for my batteries and get that fitted. Must get a back up battery as well shortly.
Still thinking about what to do WRT the water piping. Currently I have a variety of differing sized pipes running around the boat and frankly its a mess. Two of the main water pipes actually run underneath the engine and too many odd T pieces all over the place.
I also put some rust inhibitor onto the mast compression post and the evil ferrous oxide has been nibbling away there. It definately looks stronger now....
Think I'll give it a rest for a day or two as I have been working on the boat every day after work and all over the weekend.
Need to start thinking about the rest of the work outstanding and update my list which despite all the work appears to get longer by bthe day.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shamrock
Vessel Make/Model: Fortuna 37
Hailing Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town
Crew: Mike Connolly
About: My daughter Storm and Wife Niki
Extra: I am starting to restore a Fortuna 37 here in Cape Town. I have been involved in the refurbishment of several yachts working up from a 22 foot Viking to a 23 Foot Buccaneer to a 25 foot Flemenca (and also a 20 Foot Vivacity) to end up with Susan a 37 foot Fortuna

Restoration of my Fortuna 37

Who: Mike Connolly
Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town