Da rockin SHAMROCK

I have changed the name of my yacht from Susan to Shamrock

18 October 2010 | Simons Town
13 July 2010 | Simons Town
17 May 2010 | Simons Town
05 May 2010 | Simons Town
15 April 2010 | Simons Town
30 March 2010 | Simons Town
09 March 2010 | Simons Town
11 February 2010 | Simon's Town
01 February 2010 | Simons Town
02 December 2009 | Simons Town
09 November 2009 | Simons's Town
27 October 2009 | Simon's Town
13 October 2009 | Simons Town
11 September 2009 | Simon's Town
31 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 August 2009 | Simon's Town
24 July 2009 | Simon's Town
17 July 2009 | Dublin
22 June 2009 | Simon's Town
08 June 2009 | Simons Town

Scrounge II

13 February 2009 | Cape Town
Mike Connolly, still sunny and hot
Well I managed to secure that roller reefing kit I discussed in my last blog insert. Im delighted with that purchase as it will make the genoa handling a lot easier. The Jenny is so large it is a mission to move around the place and even more difficult to pack away especially by yourself. I had a great evening yesterday working on the boat on probably the best summers day in Cape Town so far. I have to admid I totally lost track of time and ended up arriving home much later than anticipated. However the family didnt seem too peeved, to it ended up alright.
I did manage to get my genoa up and flying (on the mooring) and have got to grips with this vast sail. I have also refitted all my reefing lines which has been outstanding since I put on the new stack pack. Still not 100% happy with the stackpack lines or the fastenings but it is far more workable than it was. I have also fitted labels to all the equipment as I will start bring people out sailing next week and as there are over twenty control lines scattered around the mast and boom, it will make things easier if they are labelled.
I am almost ready to head out to the bay for the boat's maiden sail (under my ownership) and I am getting quite excited by the prospect. I really must do some about all the blocks and get some
lubrication into them before we embarque. Other than that I need to look at replacing soem of the control ropes as they are looking decidely tired. Think I should replace the running adjustable rig tensioners and need to think about the Genoa sheets. There are some other old ropes around the place and while dusty and dirty look functional.
Just looking at the forecast for next week, think we will try for Tuesday evening for a gentle spin around the bay. I will gradually build up to a bigger trip once my confidence in the boat is there. I have taken the last week on Feb off as annual vacation and would ideally like to get the boat around to Simons Town during this time once any small problems are fixed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shamrock
Vessel Make/Model: Fortuna 37
Hailing Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town
Crew: Mike Connolly
About: My daughter Storm and Wife Niki
Extra: I am starting to restore a Fortuna 37 here in Cape Town. I have been involved in the refurbishment of several yachts working up from a 22 foot Viking to a 23 Foot Buccaneer to a 25 foot Flemenca (and also a 20 Foot Vivacity) to end up with Susan a 37 foot Fortuna

Restoration of my Fortuna 37

Who: Mike Connolly
Port: Simon's Town, Cape Town