Revilo Abroad

28 September 2010 | Iraklia, Aeagean
27 September 2010 | Aegean
27 September 2010 | Kithnos
27 September 2010 | Aegean
23 September 2010 | Poros
22 September 2010 | Hydra
20 September 2010 | Poros, Greece
19 September 2010 | Poros
19 September 2010 | Poros
18 September 2010 | Ionian to Aegean
18 September 2010 | Last of Ionian Island Towns
18 September 2010 | Ionia IslandsGreece
18 September 2010 | Greece 2010
18 September 2010 | Gouvia Marina End August 2010
17 September 2010 | Dubrovnik Aug 2010
17 September 2010 | Aug 2010
17 September 2010 | Split early July
17 September 2010 | Early July
17 September 2010 | Split Area
02 September 2010 | Croatia - June 22-29

Day Trip Hydra

22 September 2010 | Hydra
Lee Cloudy
Kevin, not wanting to leave the boat in the wind, stayed behind when I jumped on the Flying Dolphin the (hydrofoil fast ferry) to Hydra .- Zipping over the tops of waves at great speed - really like being on a plane! . The trip was great fun (though my Sarah says on her trip she didn't like the motion one little bit!) Once at the little port I walked around the many cobblestone streets meeting only people or donkeys - there are no cars on Hydra. It was fun to watch the donkeys cart people's luggage, packages, produce etc all over the village - especially intriguing to see them go up and down the many steps! The entrance to the harbor is narrow - and the harbor space not visible from outside - and once in, there is very little room to maneuver or to tie up. We had been warned not to take the boat but enjoy visiting by ferry from Poros. As I was leaving on the ferry to return to Poros, five sailboats and a launch came in and were jockeying for position (though I could see no place to tie up) and then another ferry came in as well....I almost hated to leave the excitement as the boats were virtually bouncing off each other in the small harbor.

While in Hydra I decided to do a little retail therapy! Found a nice pair of earrings which I liked (enough to want to try on) - but not committed to buy. To make a long story short - I put one earring on - and I, the shop assistant, and many people passing by, could not get it out!! We tried everything save ripping my earlobe (though I times I was sure they were trying that too). The little lady didn't want to part with just one - and not really my style either - so I managed to knock the price in half and was allowed to pay by credit card! It was still an hour after I got home before Kevin and I managed to get it out....and I've been afraid to put them back in!!
Comments
Vessel Name: Revilo