The Revolution

I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat systems, weather and the general liveaboardl lifestyle. This is my story as I learn the ropes to sail into the sunset.

08 May 2011 | Marsh Harbor, Bahamas (Bahamas)
07 May 2011 | Spanish Wells, Bahamas (Bahamas)
05 May 2011 | Nassau, Bahamas (United States)
29 April 2011 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 April 2011
11 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
14 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
11 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
09 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
08 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
07 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
06 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
08 January 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
29 December 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
30 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
17 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
16 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)

Rickenbacker Marina to Rickenbacker Marina

17 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
Melissa
Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind Northwest at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind Northwest at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind Northwest at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind Northwest at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Clear, 75-80 F,  Wind Northwest at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft
Total Distance: 38 Miles Under Sail: 34
Average Speed: 5.07 kts
Conditions: Clear, 75-80 F, Wind Northwest at 5-10 kts, Seas 1-2 ft

Hung over - After last nights party, I wasn't my normal chipper self. Too much rum and partying. I want to take Gary out in the ocean and play with the asymmetrical sail as well. After a hardy breakfast, we slipped the docklines to head out through Governors Cut. With the winds out the north, it would make a good downwind sail back to Key Biscayne Bay at Florida Cap lighthouse. Motor sailed all the way out to the ocean for the winds were very light on the nose. We raised the asymmetrical sail in about 4-6 knots of wind. It took me longer than normal to set it. The sail for some reasons twists when lowering the ATN sock and I cannot figure out how it does this. But once set we ghosted along out in the edge of the Gulf Stream. Once out there we found wind, change course to a beam reach. Now with the asymmetrical sail up on a beam reach is go fast crazy. With only 7 knots of true wind Rhapsody in Blue will do about 7 knots. It takes careful helm control for the boat is right on the leading edge of out of control if the winds shift and gets stronger. The wind and sea gods were kind today, probably taking pity on my well being. It was an exhilarating sail to say the least down to Florida Cape Lighthouse. The only bad part was I lost my fishing pole to Neptune. The pole holder ripped off the stern rail sending the pole into the deep. A tragic lose for sure.
The winds were great the rest of the trip back up in Key Biscayne bay. Gary got a work out on all points of sail back to the dock. Docking was a snap especially with crew on the boat. No sun downers tonight though. We meet up with Garry's daughter for dinner. She was on a working vacation and will join us for tomorrows sail.
Comments
Vessel Name: Rhapsody in Blue
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 36 2006
Hailing Port: Key Biscayne, Fl
Crew: Melissa
About:
Capt Melissa- I started sailing in 1983 on my boat a Tanzar 22. She was a great boat and raced her when ever I could. When I got stationed to England I had to sell her and my sailing habit took a back burner for many years. When I rotated back to the states, the family and I settle in Tulsa, Ok. [...]
Extra:
The Mission. To seek out cruising knowledge for the next 5 years, so I can go boldly where no woman has gone before, 10 year circumnaviagte the univerise. Wrong show!!! I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat [...]

Crazy Woman Boat Driver

Who: Melissa
Port: Key Biscayne, Fl