The Revolution

I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat systems, weather and the general liveaboardl lifestyle. This is my story as I learn the ropes to sail into the sunset.

08 May 2011 | Marsh Harbor, Bahamas (Bahamas)
07 May 2011 | Spanish Wells, Bahamas (Bahamas)
05 May 2011 | Nassau, Bahamas (United States)
29 April 2011 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 April 2011
11 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 April 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
14 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
11 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
10 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
09 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
08 March 2010 | Key Largo, Florida (United States)
07 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
06 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
08 January 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
29 December 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
30 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
18 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
17 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
16 November 2009 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)

No Name Harbor to Rickenbacker Marina

11 March 2010 | Key Biscayne, Florida (United States)
Melissa
Cloudy, 65-70 F,  Wind West at 15-20 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Cloudy, 65-70 F,  Wind West at 15-20 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Cloudy, 65-70 F,  Wind West at 15-20 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Cloudy, 65-70 F,  Wind West at 15-20 kts, Seas 1-2 ft Cloudy, 65-70 F,  Wind West at 15-20 kts, Seas 1-2 ft
Total Distance: 18 Miles Under Sail: 18
Average Speed: 6 kts
Conditions: Cloudy, 65-70 F, Wind West at 15-20 kts, Seas 1-2 ft

Thursday Heading Home - When the sun came up the winds were still howling with overcast skies. Rhapsody was swinging wildly on her anchor as she normally does. After coffee was made, the boat was readied for the sail home. Upping the anchor was going to be tricky, with two boats close by; one behind and one to the port and a seawall on the starboard side. I set up a the women on the deck so commands can be relayed from me at the helm to Jennifer raising the anchor. We raised anchor with no problems, making it look easy like we are veteran cruisers. Got to love this crew!. After motoring out of the harbor, we set the mainsail and jib with a reef in it. Rhapsody was doing 6.5 knots in 18-22 knots of wind at 40 degrees off the bow on the ride home. The bay had moderate chop in it. Rhapsody's nose got wet a few times. We sailed around the bay for a bit before we called it quits for the day. After docking the boat in a nasty crosswind we put the boat to bed. I took the most wonderful 3 hour nap that afternoon.
After everyone had showers, we went to check out South Miami Beach for shopping, dinner and some tourist stuff for the girls. Spring break was in full force here. Not my cup of tea at all but we made the best of it. After an expensive dinner on Collins Blvd we retired back to the boat.
The next day it was a lousy weather day with rain, high winds and cooler temperatures. The boat got a bath by all and I treated the crew to a movie Alice in Wonderland in 3D. It was a sad night as two of the girls packed for their flight back home. Anne decided to stay with me on the boat until Monday.
Comments
Vessel Name: Rhapsody in Blue
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 36 2006
Hailing Port: Key Biscayne, Fl
Crew: Melissa
About:
Capt Melissa- I started sailing in 1983 on my boat a Tanzar 22. She was a great boat and raced her when ever I could. When I got stationed to England I had to sell her and my sailing habit took a back burner for many years. When I rotated back to the states, the family and I settle in Tulsa, Ok. [...]
Extra:
The Mission. To seek out cruising knowledge for the next 5 years, so I can go boldly where no woman has gone before, 10 year circumnaviagte the univerise. Wrong show!!! I titled this blog "Revoution", because as I consume other sailing blogs it seems there is a constant battle raging with boat [...]

Crazy Woman Boat Driver

Who: Melissa
Port: Key Biscayne, Fl