Heading South from Canada

Vessel Name: Ricky T
11 March 2019
11 March 2019
15 January 2019
17 December 2018
17 December 2018
17 December 2018
17 December 2018 | the bike repair/barbershop
17 December 2018
03 December 2018
22 November 2018 | Puerto Los Cabos
22 November 2018 | Captain Tony's Cabo San Lucas
22 November 2018
22 November 2018
19 November 2018
15 November 2018
05 November 2018
05 November 2018
04 November 2018
04 November 2018
04 November 2018 | Avalon
Recent Blog Posts
11 March 2019

Up the mast

had to go up the mast to try to trouble shoot the wind instrument. No luck so guess gotta go back up and retrieve it and take it back to Canada. The view was spectacular of course!

11 March 2019

Where is home now?

When you are planning your "adventure" on the sea I think time almost gets forgotten. There are "deadlines" of course and you rush toward them knowing that the weather windows of fall will get fewer and shorter as time moves on. You are busy planning, provisioning, installing, repairing and finding crew [...]

15 January 2019

Smile

I guess everyone has their own stories of the things that "touch them" as they are cruising. We spent four weeks in La Paz, really only intending to spend a week but somehow the weather, the things you have to get done at dock and just the ease of getting used to a place stretched the time out. The staff [...]

17 December 2018

Lifting my spirits

This bird came along as we were heading to Los Meurtos. He landed on the bow and then left, came back with a couple of friends and they circled us for awhile. Then he, she or one of the friends landed on the bow and stayed for about 2 1/2 hours. It was a rough ride and yet it never left even with the million candlepower light on it as I tried to see what was ahead in the dark. I went forward and was within a foot of it. Still it remained until I was actually dropping the anchor in the dark. It was a very moving thing for me, like a spirit helping me. It had been a very long and tiring day. I doubt I will forget how this eased anchoring in the dark in a strange place.

17 December 2018

some of the trees are sooooo cool

17 December 2018

Wow, I never thought to use these for a tree decoration

Margueritas

15 November 2018
So getting here was gruelling. You ask yourself why and say I guess I should be proud I suffered stress and hours of trouble like waves that go over the cabin roof and if you have seen our boat you know that is not a small wave. I guess I have never chosen the easy route How is it possible you are travelling 5 or 6 knots at night through darkness depending on AIS and radar and it seems a hurtling speed. I could go out in the dark and deal with broken stuff in the dark and drop or reef a sail in the dark but wait so much for daylight. You ask why we do it and I could not answer. I am used to polite Canucks who answer the VHF and realize that ain't gonna happen here. Gone are the ship's off the Canadian and US waters that care who you are. So travel looking at technology in the dark hoping the numbers you see are true but you will never see some of the boats on AIS and radar and maybe what you see in the night. See daylight as success you survived the night. Enjoy the moment because no one tells you the nights are so hard.
Comments

About & Links