Riding with the wind...

Who: Ko Barrett
Port: Mayo, MD
14 December 2016 | Rhode River
12 December 2016 | Blue Water Marina
05 January 2016
05 January 2016 | Mayo, Md
31 December 2015 | Blue Water Marina: Mayo, MD
25 August 2013 | Choptank River and Knapps Narrows
07 July 2013 | Saratoga Springs, NY
30 April 2013 | HHN
15 April 2013 | HHN
13 April 2013 | HHN
17 February 2013 | HHN
10 February 2013 | HHN
05 February 2013 | Albuquerque, NM
20 January 2013 | HHN
15 January 2013 | HHN
02 December 2012 | Herrington Harbour North
12 November 2012 | HHN to Dividing Creek and return
12 November 2012 | HHN to Dividing Creek and return

A little more mainentance

10 February 2013 | HHN
Ko Barrett: 30s with a nasty wind chill
Made my way out to Little Wing today after three weeks away. I stopped in on Paula and Tim on their Passport 40 on the hard to see how they were doing on the long list of tasks they set for themselves on Spirit. They are making progress and hope to splash on May 1st.

The temperature was 39 degrees in the cabin when I opened the companionway. Three hours later with the ceramic heater on high, it had only gotten up to 55. No matter. It was warm enough to oil the teak on the starboard, L-shaped settee area and clean the area under the cushions. I also measured for replacement LED berth/reading lights that I will likely order from Alpenglow. Youch...the new lights will cost about $1000 total but will cut down on the 12v draw and look considerably nicer than the tarnished and broken lights that have graced Little Wing for the last 25 years. I'm not going to replace the flourescent overhead lights yet. I use them so seldom it doesn't seem worth it.

It was windy today, 15 knots from the East, and it felt bitter cold sticking my head out of the companionway. I don't think I could have kept warm enough with the ceramic heater to stay out there. It may be a few more weeks before I get back to my old routine of mid-week overnights/teleworking. That's good...maybe I can make progress organizing all the boat junk I have strewn in my basement.
Comments
Vessel Name: Little Wing
Vessel Make/Model: Hinterhoeller Nonsuch 30U
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Ko Barrett
About: Only me, a 58 year old, slightly feisty woman, five years into sailing and LOVING my floating adventure. Short-term goal is to explore the Chesapeake. Later: points North
Extra: Always wanted a waterfront cabin and now I've got the best there is: a floating cabin that meanders to one beautiful place after another.

Who: Ko Barrett
Port: Mayo, MD