Robyn's Nest Adventures

Formerly Sailing Seanna.

13 October 2015 | Kingfisher Bay Marina
08 October 2015 | Demopolis, Alabama
08 February 2015
18 January 2015 | Biloxi Mississippi
17 January 2015 | Biloxi, Mississippi
14 January 2015 | New Orleans
22 November 2014 | Guthrie, OK
10 November 2014 | Houma, Louisiana
10 November 2014 | Morgan City, Louisiana
08 November 2014 | Old River Canal
07 November 2014 | Natchez, Mississippi
05 November 2014 | Vicksburg, Mississippi
03 November 2014 | Vicksburg
02 November 2014 | Lake Providence Harbor
01 November 2014 | Greenville, Mississippi
30 October 2014 | MM 14.8 Arkansas River
30 October 2014 | MM 14.8 Arkansas River
29 October 2014 | Three mile above lock four on Arkansas River
28 October 2014 | Island Harbor Marina, Pine Bluff, Arkansas
25 October 2014 | Island Habor Marina, Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Getting closer

21 September 2011 | Guthrie
Lester
I know, I know, it has been a while since I updated the blog. We have been very busy. Robyn's dad's house is sold. There was a lot of work involved in getting it ready. We made the awnings for Seanna. They are made from old sails and we hope they don't look too Okie.

While we have been in Oklahoma, Maritime Sanitation has replaced all of the sanitation hoses on Seanna. That was kind of a fluke. I got a call one morning from Clayton who is one of their techs asking me how I want the macerator pump installed. As I recalled our last conversation, they were supposed to get me a price on how much it would cost to do the job. Their interpretation was "do it". Robyn says I really did imply for them to do the work so anyway it is done and thankfully, the price wasn't out of line. I really wasn't looking forward to doing it anyway, and Robyn sure didn't want anything to do with it. Kind of makes you wonder, did Robyn call them and ok the work order behind my back?

I had my last shoulder surgery and it is progressing pretty well. In fact I should be completely released from my Dr. on the 29th. We still plan to move aboard Seanna in just a few weeks. We have talked to a rental property manager, and have decided to rent our house out while we are cruising. We plan to come home for Thankgiving, and stay through Christmas. We will move all of our stuff to a storage unit during that time also. The house should be ready to rent out by the first of the year.

We also decided to sell our car. The thought of it just sitting around depreciating while we are gone didn't make sense. So we bought us a junker to get by with until we leave. Our junker is really a pretty neat car. I think I'll keep it for myself when we get back. It is a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4WD. It should make me an awesome hunting car when we are through cruising.

We are working this week on finishing the landscape at the house. We just hope the renters will take care of it. We're both getting excited about getting all of these loose ends tied up. Our next blog post should be from Seanna in a few weeks
Comments
Vessel Name: Robyn's Nest
Vessel Make/Model: Gulfstar 44MC
Hailing Port: Guthrie, OK
Crew: Lester and Robyn Branch
About:
Married since 2007. It has been Lester's dream to cruise in a sailboat for over 20 years. After a cruise in 2012, and learning about the "Great Loop", we sold our sailboat and bought a trawler for a different kind of cruising. [...]
Robyn's Nest's Photos - Main
Life after Seanna, aboard Robyn's Nest
14 Photos
Created 8 March 2014
21 Photos
Created 22 March 2012