Robyn's Nest Adventures

Formerly Sailing Seanna.

13 October 2015 | Kingfisher Bay Marina
08 October 2015 | Demopolis, Alabama
08 February 2015
18 January 2015 | Biloxi Mississippi
17 January 2015 | Biloxi, Mississippi
14 January 2015 | New Orleans
22 November 2014 | Guthrie, OK
10 November 2014 | Houma, Louisiana
10 November 2014 | Morgan City, Louisiana
08 November 2014 | Old River Canal
07 November 2014 | Natchez, Mississippi
05 November 2014 | Vicksburg, Mississippi
03 November 2014 | Vicksburg
02 November 2014 | Lake Providence Harbor
01 November 2014 | Greenville, Mississippi
30 October 2014 | MM 14.8 Arkansas River
30 October 2014 | MM 14.8 Arkansas River
29 October 2014 | Three mile above lock four on Arkansas River
28 October 2014 | Island Harbor Marina, Pine Bluff, Arkansas
25 October 2014 | Island Habor Marina, Pine Bluff, Arkansas

Working on the Nest

16 March 2014
Lester
I just spent the first weekend on Robyn's Nest since we winterized her last fall. I had a couple of things that I had gotten this winter that I wanted to put on board. I also wanted to start working on some projects that have to be done before I can put her back in service. 

I bought an 85 pound Manutius anchor this winter, so I got the new anchor installed. The anchor fit the bow spirit perfectly. I'm really excited to try this anchor. It is reported to set the first time every time. I know that is expecting too much, but a good anchor, and anchor set is imperative to a good nights sleep.

Uncle pat gave us an old helm seat that needed to be reupholstered. I had Guthrie Auto Trim do the upholstery, and I couldn't be more pleased with their work. I installed it, which is really just sliding the old one off of the pedestal, and sliding the new one on. Just one little glitch though, the old pedestal is 2 1/2" and the chair needs a 3". So I'm looking for some kind of bushings that will adapt the new to the old.

When we bought the Nest, we knew she had a bad heat exchanger on the port engine. I pulled the core out this weekend, and now I'm trying to see if it can be repaired, or just needs new seals. It looks fine to me, so maybe new seals will make it work. As it was, the engine coolant was mixing with the raw cooling water, resulting in a raw water cooled engine. Not really too bad a problem, until we get into salt water.

The other major engine problem was also on the port engine. While making the trip from the Great Lakes to Muskogee, I noticed the raw water pump seals were leaking. I have the pump pulled now, and will try to rebuild it. Once I get the heater core issue resolved, and get the pump rebuilt, I will go back to the Nest and get her ready for spring.
Comments
Vessel Name: Robyn's Nest
Vessel Make/Model: Gulfstar 44MC
Hailing Port: Guthrie, OK
Crew: Lester and Robyn Branch
About:
Married since 2007. It has been Lester's dream to cruise in a sailboat for over 20 years. After a cruise in 2012, and learning about the "Great Loop", we sold our sailboat and bought a trawler for a different kind of cruising. [...]
Robyn's Nest's Photos - Main
Life after Seanna, aboard Robyn's Nest
14 Photos
Created 8 March 2014
21 Photos
Created 22 March 2012