Rogue Ravings

25 March 2011 | Soldiers Point NSW AUSTRALIA
11 January 2011 | Southport enroute to Port Stephens
10 January 2011 | Gold Coast Mariners Cove Marina
08 January 2011 | Southport Mariners Cove Marina QLD
04 January 2011 | Airlie Beach
24 December 2010 | TCYC Marina
24 December 2010 | Townsville Yacht Club Marina
22 December 2010 | Portland Roads
22 December 2010 | Portland Roads
22 December 2010 | Portland Roads
22 December 2010 | Portland Roads
19 December 2010 | Portland Roads at anchor 22 days
19 December 2010 | Escape River FNQ
19 November 2010 | 20 Nov 10

20-21 Dec 10 – Yorkys Knob to Townsville (3583M logged)

24 December 2010 | Townsville Yacht Club Marina
Rain and Tropical Cyclone at Innisfail
Monday - Departed Cairns at 0645 h in calm conditions. A light SW breeze and the tide wafted me toward Fitzroy Island before veering to the WNW and increasing to 7-10 knots. Speed increased and so did the humidity and temperature as my speed cancelled out any breeze over the boat. By the time I was abeam of Mourilyan Harbour, the sky blackened and a front rolled by just to my west. I missed the worst of it and had 20 knots from the W-SW. This continued for many hours with the wind backing to the S then SE. The swell was beam on from the west so it was still comfortable but not much good for sleeping.
My original intent was to transit to the east of Magnetic Island as the weather reports indicated the front was not due to pass by until late Monday or Tues morning. That all changed as I approached Hinchinbrook Island where the sea had now caught up with the wind direction and was also on the nose. I altered course to the SW so I could run in the lee of Orpheus Island and the Palm Island Group. Great decision that provided 5 hours of relief from the SSE winds and 'hobby-horse' ride. By the time I popped out from behind the last island, conditions had abated slightly and Townsville was in sight. I arrived at the new Townsville Yacht Club marina Tues morning at 1100 h.
Glenn dropped by between jobs to say g'day and check out Rogue Wave. He is like me.......never bloody stops working!! My daughter Stephanie had the day off and greeted me with a big hug. She took me to the Barbers for a haircut as I was looking a little tardy! After 3 micro sleeps in the Barber's chair the job was done and we headed for the 'chicks pad' where I had a lovely time catching up on her life.
Comments
Vessel Name: Rogue Wave
Vessel Make/Model: Sigma 36
Hailing Port: Port Stephens, Australia
Crew: Kev
About: Kev is a self reliant bloke who believes one should prepare early for sailing retirement. Relle is a patient wife/grandmother waiting for her husband to retire so he will stop his moaning about working!
Extra:
For as long as I can remember I have always loved water and boats. Thanks to my parents, my first ocean passage was in 1964 when we sailed from the UK to Sydney via the Panama Canal at the ripe old age of 2 and a bit! I threw up the entire trip and the ship travelling in sight behind us, was lost [...]

A bit about me

Who: Kev
Port: Port Stephens, Australia