Rover

Heading to SLO

13 September 2019 | San Luis Harbor
Crew blogger: Devin | Sunny and 70's
After a long weekend in Monterey we started our (roughly) 26-hour boat ride down to San Luis. I had never been sailing before this trip, much less doing 26ish hours at a time! We were split into two watches, 2 people per watch, in 3 hour shifts. Linda and I were on the second watch while Tom and Eric were the first. While on watch (especially overnight) I was awestruck with the views. Incredible sunsets and sunrises.

We pulled into SLO around 8am and after I slept until 1pm. There are tons of Harbor Seals, Sea Lions, Otters, and avian species, which is awesome to me because there are only seagulls in Virginia (where I’m from). Since we’ve arrived I rested and relaxed on the boat, recovering my energy from such a long night. Tomorrow I’ll be catching the water taxi into town to see what San Luis has to offer.
Comments
Vessel Name: Rover
Vessel Make/Model: Valiant 42
Hailing Port: Seattle. WA
Crew: Eric and Linda
About:
We're making a big change to a cruising lifestyle. Eric retired in 2012 after 32 years in R&D (mostly) at HP. Previous passions included flying and bicycling. Linda will retire in 2013 from Oregon State University. She's been active in Zonta, was a Scoutmaster, and is a champion baker. [...]
Extra: Linda was barrel master and Eric participated in the Jackson Street Vintners; a group of friends that made wine from 2000 to 2013
Rover's Photos - Main
From Seattle to San Francisco
166 Photos
Created 21 August 2019
Photos from week seven
2 Photos
Created 3 November 2013
Living in Port Townsend
4 Photos
Created 2 September 2013