01 May 2014
01 May 2014 | Marina di Ragusa
03 April 2014
04 April 2012 | Marina di Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
24 November 2011 | San Francisco
17 November 2011
19 October 2011 | Ragusa, Sicily
09 October 2011 | Mahon, Menorca
22 September 2011
14 September 2011 | Barcelona, Spain
15 August 2011 | Frankfurt, Germany
01 April 2011 | Vigo, Spain
20 March 2011 | Oia, Spain
21 February 2011 | Vigo, Spain
16 February 2011 | Vigo, still...
07 December 2010 | Richland, Washington
29 November 2010 | Paris, France

Coming Home

17 November 2011
Skip T
Home is where the heart is
There’s no place like home
Home, home, home on the range


“Home” used to be an absolute term for me. It was simply where you lived. Sure, other places felt like home, but home was always where you laid your head most nights, where your keepsakes were stored, where your favorite slippers were.

Last winter, after months of being on our new “home”, I still referred to going back to the U.S. as going “home”. When I talked about returning to Spain, I said that we were going back to the boat.

Now “home” is more of a relative term for me. I pause for a moment when talking with someone about going to the U.S. or coming back to Sicily, for now the term “home” has different contexts. Frankly it’s a bit bothersome. “We’re back home in a couple of weeks.” “Oh, you’ll be back here in the marina in December?” “No, I mean we’re going to the U.S. in a couple of weeks.” “We’ll be back home in March.” See what I’m saying?

Although it may be bothersome, it’s also quite astonishing to me. Yes, of course, it’s logical that I’d start to talk about the boat as a home but somehow I didn’t expect to feel like it was home. Home as in where the heart is. But low and behold At Last has become my true home.
Comments
Vessel Name: At Last
Vessel Make/Model: Lagoon 400
Crew: Cap'n Steve & Skip T
About:
Steve & Tracy are from southern California and decided to follow their dream in 2010; sell their home, say "see ya soon" to family, friends and their Chelsea, get rid their worldly possessions (well most), buy a catamaran and take off to see the world. [...]
Extra: FB: Tracy Bryant Van Anda

Who: Cap'n Steve & Skip T