Sailing the Pacific

09 November 2010
07 November 2010
05 November 2010
26 October 2010
19 October 2010 | Somewhere between Fiji and Vanuatu
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
03 October 2010
15 September 2010 | Vava'u, Tonga
02 September 2010 | Vava'u, Tonga
08 August 2010
29 July 2010
25 July 2010 | Bora Bora
20 July 2010
16 July 2010 | Moorea
16 July 2010 | Moorea, Society Islands

1 Day Until Departure

18 February 2010
We have been busy little ants this week, collecting food and carrying it back to our heap. Here are some of the ways we have spent our time over the past week,

Cleaning and oiling the teak in our boat


Making a table



Surfing


shopping, shopping and more shopping



...and leg waxing, but don't worry, I won't show you the photos of that. And Algebra lessons. Yes. Some documentaries about the Universe (given to us by our friends Andrew and Elenora) have made me interested in maths as the language of science. Yesterday we just happened (in the small town of Golfito) to bump into and meet two professors in Mathematics and James has been teaching me how to solve equations. I wish my maths teacher from high-school John Rauris could see this, I swear it would make his year to know that i am getting interested in maths- he tried so incredibly hard but i was always happy to doodle in my book instead- or sit in the corner playing guitar.

I even bought a pair of nerdy glasses because I thought I might meet more nerds who can teach me things that way... not sure if that's how it works (perhaps you don't need to look like a nerd to be one).

James has gone to the port captain as I write to sign us out of Costa Rica. We have HEAPS of food but we are still waiting on our satellite credit so we should be ready to leave the day after tomorrow. Not sure what to expect. Sea-sickness? Exhaustion (from doing the night shifts)?Humility at the vastness of the ocean? Maybe it's best not to expect anything.

Comments
Vessel Name: Dagmar
Vessel Make/Model: CAL 39
Hailing Port: Melbourne, Australia
Crew: James Thomson and Isabelle Chigros-Fraser
About:
Hello and welcome to our new sailing blog! Our dream is to sail across the Pacific Ocean this year starting in Costa Rica and finishing in Australia. [...]
Extra:
As we have been told by fellow sailors, when you live at the mercy of the elements plans are like "Jello and Sand"- wobbly and unsteady like Jello (jelly for us aussies) and when you write something in the sand often it will be washed away with the tide. It is for this reason that we didn't finish [...]
'Twenty years from now you will be more dissapointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.' -Mark Twain
' I felt my pulse beating with suppressed excitement as I threw the mooring bouy overboard. It seemed as if that simple action had severed my connection with the life on the shore; that I had thereby cut adrift the ties of convention. The unrealities and illusions of cities and crowds, that I was free now, free to go where I chose, to do and to live and to conquer as I liked, to play the game wherin a man's qualities count for more than his appearance. 'Maurice Griffiths, The Magic of the Swatchways.