Sailing the Pacific

09 November 2010
07 November 2010
05 November 2010
26 October 2010
19 October 2010 | Somewhere between Fiji and Vanuatu
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
14 October 2010
03 October 2010
15 September 2010 | Vava'u, Tonga
02 September 2010 | Vava'u, Tonga
08 August 2010
29 July 2010
25 July 2010 | Bora Bora
20 July 2010
16 July 2010 | Moorea
16 July 2010 | Moorea, Society Islands

No use crying over spilt milk

13 April 2010
Isabelle
A few days before we left the Galapagos we had dinner with friends Vicky and Steve from True Companions. During dinner Vicky told us of a great recipe she had for coconut brownies. �"I�'ll print a copy of the recipe out if you like�". My mouth was already watering as Steve began describing the large amounts of coconut and chocolate that was in them.

Passing our three quarters of the way mark to the Marquesas, Jamie and I decided, called for a little celebration, �'What a great chance to make those brownies�' I thought.

Here is how I know I�'m living in a globalised world; first I got out the coconut cream powder which Nona bought for us in Australia but was made in china with coconuts from Costa Rica and mixed it up into a creamy milk. Next I melted the chocolate, which we bought in the Galapagos but was made in Ecuador by a Swiss company. I also beat some eggs, which had been made by chickens in the Galapagos (their feathers are probably a product of Japan). I went to the cupboard and picked out the bottle of rum, which we bought in Panama but was produced in the UK. �'Why travel�' I thought, �'when you could just eat a brownie�'.

I�'ll tell you what, if ever I have experienced a moment of Zen, it would be when I began to mix the coconut cream into the chocolate. It oozed around my spoon and a sweet, rich, divine smell wafted up and into my nostrils. Come to think of it, it may have been more rapture than Zen. All of a sudden, a bigger than usual wave rocketed into the side of the boat. Everything crashed and flew. I was thrown against the sink behind me. Our toaster fell off the shelf and into my chocolate mixture leaving big lumps of carbonised toast sitting there on the surface of it. One of our white cups fell off the bench and broke for the third time. The remaining coconut milk spilled all over our bench and began to drip innocently into our dry food storage. The eggs followed the milk. I won�'t tell you what word I then muttered.

Jamie was down in a flash picking up the pieces and cleaning up the spilled milk and eggs. I was so frustrated. After only four hours sleep I was already on a short fuse. I felt like crying or screaming but serious matters urged; a brownie was at stake here. I began to spoon the carbon off the chocolate. Jamie assisted me for the rest of the brownie making and as the boat lurched and waves hammered, we finally got the brownie in the oven.

30 minutes later, Jamie and I stood staring down at our creation. �"It�'s tiny�" I sighed. Jamie hugged me �"Well�" he said, �"It�'s our three quarter cake�".
Comments
Vessel Name: Dagmar
Vessel Make/Model: CAL 39
Hailing Port: Melbourne, Australia
Crew: James Thomson and Isabelle Chigros-Fraser
About:
Hello and welcome to our new sailing blog! Our dream is to sail across the Pacific Ocean this year starting in Costa Rica and finishing in Australia. [...]
Extra:
As we have been told by fellow sailors, when you live at the mercy of the elements plans are like "Jello and Sand"- wobbly and unsteady like Jello (jelly for us aussies) and when you write something in the sand often it will be washed away with the tide. It is for this reason that we didn't finish [...]
'Twenty years from now you will be more dissapointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.' -Mark Twain
' I felt my pulse beating with suppressed excitement as I threw the mooring bouy overboard. It seemed as if that simple action had severed my connection with the life on the shore; that I had thereby cut adrift the ties of convention. The unrealities and illusions of cities and crowds, that I was free now, free to go where I chose, to do and to live and to conquer as I liked, to play the game wherin a man's qualities count for more than his appearance. 'Maurice Griffiths, The Magic of the Swatchways.