Sailmates

02 October 2014 | Swedesboro, NJ
11 September 2014 | Chesapeake Bay
20 August 2014 | Chesapeake Bay
30 June 2014
30 April 2014
26 April 2014 | Annapolis, MD
23 April 2014 | Swedesboro, NJ
22 April 2014 | New Bern, NC

Spring Sailboat Show

26 April 2014 | Annapolis, MD
The Annapolis Boat Show is a twice-a-year event that my husband and I never miss. It is bitter sweet in that we get to see all the latest technology for boats and drool over the gorgeous boats being showcased, and yet we realize how financially inadequate we are in being able to purchase the boat and equipment of our dreams. This being said, we are slowly putting together our list of "must haves" and reinforcing our shared love of one particular boat that we both seem to have our hearts set on.

We always begin the show by looking through the tents and talking to the vendors that have amazing displays of invaluable equipment. Equipment continues to evolve and become more efficient as technological advances flood into the marine world. Since we do not have our blue water boat we have to hold off purchasing anything, just yet, so it is always puzzling to Dan how we leave a boat show having spent several hundred dollars. Last fall boat show, we purchased wonderful foul weather jackets that set us back a few hundred, but I knew we could use those jackets while sailing on the Chesapeake aboard Dove. I figured there was nothing at this boat show that we would need to purchase and perhaps we would break the chain of spending and escape without making any major purchases.

I was the first to cave on my hugest weakness, books. I passed a lady in a booth with a cookbook for boats. I immediately stopped to ask her about her publishing experience, dying to get any information I can before I undertake my own sailing related book endeavors. We chatted for a few minutes, and before I knew it, I had caved and was walking away with a $20 cookbook. "Okay," I thought to myself. "This is not too bad, if I just stop with this one purchase, I can pat myself on the back."

The majority of the afternoon, we spent looking at the boats for sale and I absolutely fell in love with a 1988 Hans Christian, a boat neither of us were familiar with. The woodwork was amazing and the interior of the boat had a classic, quaint and roomy feel to it. It was only 40ft but the cabin had the feel of a much larger boat. The boat was sailed by a couple who lost their adult son and bought the boat and set out to sea as to not give into their grief. They spent several years sailing the vessel and in their late 70's were finally turning her in, for life back on land. This boat provided the healing energy they needed to get their lives back on track. She was truly beautiful but Dan was not quite on the same page as me, and feared we would not be successful in maintaining the boat the quality she currently displayed. We looked at half a dozen other boats, but the last boat was the brand that we both know is the boat we will probably end up owning someday, the Hylas. Her quality and great reviews are undeniable and it is just a matter of time before we find one in our price range and in the shape we need to sail around the world safely.

We finished our walk-about and headed back through the tents to depart, after visiting the rum tent and purchasing a Pain Killer from the dockside bar. I thought we were free and clear of any major purchases, when we fatefully tarried to buy my daughter Katie a pair of Perry sandals she just had to have. In the same display area, there sat brand new Mustang safety harnesses, the latest and best model. Improvements in design and comfort called to me, as this is one of the items I need to make my passage with John Kretschmer. I looked pleadingly at my husband, who shook his head in disbelief, so close to the exit gate of the boat show. Dan knew this was a necessary item that would have to eventually be purchased and it was boasting a great "Boat Show discount". In the last few seconds before we left, he shelled out the $300 for the bright red harness. I gave him a huge hug and kiss for his generosity and kindness, but we failed once again to escape a boat show without some type of major purchase. So close... but I do have a great harness for my journey in January!
Comments
Vessel Name: Dove
Vessel Make/Model: C&C 30
Hailing Port: Bowley's Quarters, MD
Crew: Dan and Alison Gieschen
About:
Dan is a graduate of Kings Point Merchant Marine Academy. During his college years, he was a member of the dingy sailing team and several of his teammates are now Olympic sailors. Dan has won three national championship titles in three different classes of dingys. [...]
Extra:
Both Dan and Alison's parents were avid sailors. Dan's parents moved to North Carolina after falling in love with the area at Dan and Alison's wedding. They built a house next door to Alison's parents and for the past 25 years, have been next door neighbors, both having their sailboats parked at [...]

About Us

Who: Dan and Alison Gieschen
Port: Bowley's Quarters, MD