SAIL SAMAL, PHILIPPINES

Come join us in this wonderful island in the Southern Philippines

20 June 2009 | Davao and Samal, Philippines
01 May 2009 | Samal and Davao, Philippines
25 February 2009 | Samal Island
02 February 2009 | Davao, Philippines
23 January 2009 | Davao, Philippines
11 January 2009 | Davao, Philippines
07 January 2009 | Davao, Philippines
24 December 2008 | Davao Gulf, Philippines
21 December 2008 | Davao Gulf, Philippines
19 December 2008 | Davao
17 December 2008 | Philippines
16 December 2008 | Pacific
15 December 2008 | Pacific
13 December 2008 | Pacific
12 December 2008 | Pacific
10 December 2008 | Samal, Davao Gulf
06 December 2008 | South Pacific
05 December 2008 | South Pacific
04 December 2008 | South Pacific
02 December 2008 | South Pacific

The Sony Store

19 December 2008 | Davao
Wiskun
Some people think of the Philippines as backwards, a 3rd world country. In talking to a number of foreigners visiting, I can see that there are misconceptions and these primarily come from what they hear and read. All I can say is - from our experiences in traveling, we have learnt not to believe 100% of what is written. As for hearsay, that is just that - hearsay. Most repeat what they hear as if they themselves have personally experienced it.

Davao is perceived to be backwards, outskirts, suburbs, boonies, boondocks, or any word to this effect. Even Filipinos in Metro Manila think so. I look around and ask, why? There are supermalls here, theaters, hotels, subdivisions, several hospitals, universities, primary and secondary schools, car dealers of every brand, big shipping port, international airport, call centers, and several resorts. On the other hand, I still see the "Old Davao" - public wet markets where people still carry woven baskets, street vendors, cooking using charcoal, locals hanging around, little corner stores, cafeterias, fruit stands, nipa huts and shanty type housing. You can visibly see both sides anywhere you go - the modern and the old-fashioned, the rich and the poor, the advances and the backwards - clearly a land of contradictions. They are not seggregated to different areas like we see in most developed countries. I think this is the beauty of Davao. You can get the whole mix in one, like "all for the price of one". You can have the ammenities of a developed city, while still enjoy the laid-back lifestyle of the old.

So, why am I talking about this? Because I want to share my experience in trying to find a small camera. Currently, I take pictures with my Nikon, purchased in Canada. It is big, bulky and I end up not taking it around. I see lots of places where I want to capture the scenes permanently and I say to myself "why didn't I bring my camera?". I certainly regret not taking more when I was cruising in the Pacific Islands. Most times, I am worried it will get wet when I jump into the dinghy to go to shore. And then, I worry about security. Slinging a big camera spells out "tourist!" when you want to remain incognito in some places.

Off I went to the mall. I am wary of buying something like a camera in any store - who knows they are just copycats. That is common here. So where else can I find the real thing? The Sony Store - 3rd floor of Gaisano Mall.

Wow, Davao is definitely not backwards. Here I found all the modern technology you can find, some I know I cannot find in Canadian stores. Being close to Japan, the Philippines import the newest gadgets faster than the West. The price may look more expensive than in US/Canada, but where you get the best deals are the package deals being offered. The accessories, the bonus deals, the extras - these are where you will find the value. They also accept instalment payments and offer other financing options - it's your choice. You may think that the owner has already incorporated the extras into the price. Really, it is not necessarily so. The extras are most times offered by the company Sony itself, through the dealer. If the dealer is a top seller, he gets more options from Sony and thus, he can transfer them to his customers. It's a win-win situation for all parties.

The one thing I notice when I go to stores is that it is useless to ask the sales clerk. They do not know anything. Worst, they pretend to know and give you stupid answers. I end up getting frustrated and angry because I've been given the run-around. Not so in the Sony Store. To test them, I approached one of the sales clerks and told him to give me the whole sales speech. I was prepared to snicker inside and be proud that I am right. Amazingly, as he went on with his speech, and I interjected with a few questions, he threw me a curb ball. I was totally impressed. Not only was he well versed, he answered all my questions straight, no flowery words. I like that - very much. I bought a small compact camera with 28mm (wider) lens. This can fit into my purse easily. My very own Christmas gift!!

Comments
Vessel Name: Wiskun
Vessel Make/Model: Samson C-Breeze
Hailing Port: Vancouver, BC , Canada
Crew: Kjartan Sekkingstad and Ellen Lee-kwen
About: We sailed out of Vancouver, BC in 2002 and are now in a beautiful island in the Gulf of Davao, Southern Philippines.
Home Page: http://www.sailsamal.com/

WISKUN

Who: Kjartan Sekkingstad and Ellen Lee-kwen
Port: Vancouver, BC , Canada