SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

becalmed? Time for a swim

10 August 2015 | 40 28'N:45 18'W, The tradewinds I have dreamed of..
Donna
where there is becalm, there is a holiday. Today was a new day. I had an unusually long sleep last night with steady light winds. I woke groggy as long term exhaustion was catching up with me. I just wanted to sleep but I was sore from laying too long. It was gorgeous outside and easily I opted to get up and get going. I was instantly overwhelmed by the peaace and beauty of the sea. there were several stormy petrels circling around. Later in the morning, on the far horizon, I saw the blowing of water and jumping dolphins, a large pod, though they weren't interested in us or come near. I brought out my irish whistle and played them some tunes as I always do. The theme of today has been joy...true laughter and fun. I consider humor and true fun as the one element of life that has it's best expression amidst others, a social experience. It is something I miss at sea, humor. I am way too serious and task oriented. I can feel elated, exhilerated, sensual, grateful, emotional....but rarely do I truly laugh alone. It is the animals and birds that give me a chuckle alone on the ocean. There are moments, Wise Mother Ocean and I have a chuckle and fun. When I am sitting on deck and a stray spray across the deck catches my face, it is a kiss from her. Part of changing my orientation from land to the sea, is regaining that sense of fun and joy. Regaining a childlikeness that can bring delight at simple things. As a child,, I often wandered off alone in our neighborhood or woods behind our house and could just imagine away and be delighted by the trees an birds. As my children grew up, it was one of the wonderful things about being a mother, the ability to become childlike and play with my children. When Bob and I take care of a little bijon spaniel dog, Oyster, he gets us to wrestle on the floor and play all kind of games. I miss that. An activity that I love to do and often is one of the things I don't do when I am too task oriented is to swim. I have always said that I know when my life is in balance because I am singing and swimming. Well, I have been promising myself that the next time the winds die and we are becalmed, I am goingy swimming. The water has been drawing me and my body longs for the cool water and loss of compression on my back. Today was the day. I had another arduous day trying a new tact for doing Celestial Nav. I studied a different book ( I have 4 different appoaches on board). It required taking an hour to get an early sight and then a later sight when the sun was descending at the same height. I could then get the mean time between the two and it would be 'noon'. I finished the sights and tossed it all aside. I would do the paperwork later. I was going swimming. What an incredible feeling, the cool water, splashing away. I did a bit of my water yoga, exercises and had a great bath. No longer will I moan about being becalmed. It will just become a time to swim and take a holiday. This is not my own original idea. When I was becalmed in the South Atlantic during my first circ, I actually became depressed, I was so frustrated that I could not move and the boat wallowed so. Somehow, my moaning about the calm made it back to my website (as did anything that I texted, little did I know) and to my brother. He took the time to get on the Iridium message site and sent me a text..."Donna, stop complaining. Go on holiday...just enjoy doing nothing". His words obviously still ring in my ears as I hear his voice as he would be saying it.. I will not neglect to do that this trip. It is not a race...It is a journey...an experience. Only gratitude!!!! I have a bit of light winds coming according to the forecast. I am at a position now that i am playing with the Azore High, a classic term for the high system that always sits somewhere in the middle of the North Atlantic baring a huge storm. I chose to leave at this time as the high is low enough that I could scoot across the top of it giving me tradewinds...SW winds. But now that I am nearing the Azores, a decision will need to be made as to when to take the turn SE towards the Cape Verdes Islands and into the South Atlantic. I will be watching that High system to try to stay out of the calms from which it gets its name. There is always a still center to the area. So, as this last storm front has gone west of me, it has shoved the high a bit north. At 40 1/2 degrees, I am just at the top edge of the high. There are SW winds above and NE winds below me, rather strong just south of the Azores...at 37* N. I am just at the edge of a calm area, SW winds still above and light eas terlies below. It is a thin line and God forbid I wander down into those light easterlies. Ugh. So I am being careful to maintain a course that is just north of 90*. But unless I go north a full degree or more, I am going to have light winds the next few days. So slow I may go but hopefully move steadily to make my way to where I can grab the NE winds and start heading SE. The Verdes are at about 28* W so if I make it to 40 W up here with NE winds, I shoud have a good SE course. The farther south I go, the more easterly the trades. A beam all the way. So.... There are squalls about tonight. Winds are not steady, so it may not be as peaceful a night tonight..but it will be as it is. Enjoy. Keepin On Sailing On a Dream...When the spirit is free, it can find joy and gratitude, translating to be happy. Do the things that make you feel good without excuse. It will empower the challenge of tomorrow.
Comments

About & Links