SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

The fish are winning 3-0

11 August 2015 | 41 08'N:43 10'W, 10 degrees from the Azores
Donna
I am just staying north enough to continue to enjoy tradewinds across the Atlantic. Annother gorgeous day making 5+kts going slightly NE to stay above the Azore high system. It is working.

But I dare say that I don't have enough fishing gear if I don't figure out a better rig for fishing. I have an awesome reel but was not able to find the heavy line I am used to having. I have 50lb test instead. I have been rigging the reel to a bungy chord to absorb the shock of the 'hit' and hope to preevent me from losing the lure and fish. But it hasn't worked yet. This time I lefft a bit more slack in the bungy tether hoping it will have more give. I also set more line on the spool hoping that the next time I get a hit, I have time to get up on deck and tend to it before it speels off all the line and snaps. Between the bungy set up preventing the line from speeling off and also taking the shock....I sure hope I catch a fish. I am planning fish in my provisioning...Can't afford to keep losing gear. But I dare say I am getting hits, just not fish.

Today was an incredible Ocean Mammal day. A phenomenal pod of dolphins played off the bow all morning. What fun it was. I tried to get the gopro over the side to photo them in the water...I didn't quite have it aimed right but, next time I will do better. It was just fun. I played a few tunes to them on my Irish whistle as I always do. Then this afternoon I had a whale siteing, close enough to see the blow and the large body mass brown on the surface but not close enough to get wet. Exciting. This is the first time I have seen a whale in the Atlantic this far east. I enjoyed a pod of minke whales just north of the Gulf STream on my trip back to RI from Bermuda...It was if the size of the mammals made me want to fear, but I just couldn't. My heart just beat away in awe as they spent hours swimming under and around the boat. I figured that I must have looked like a small whale to them. A small stormy petrel has been circling all day...Otherwise, lots of lines needing whipping got tidied up and I spent an hour getting a good noon site. I did better today. Closer than before. Hopefully this routine will get easier. It takes quite a bit of time to get an accurate noon site. I am trying a technique where i get a sunsite 1/2 hour before anticipated noon. I recored the height on the sextant. Then I take sites near noon and try to get the highest height. the time though is very hard because the sun lingers a bit at the top before descending and that long timeframe can really set off a fix by 10s of miles. So then I start checking sites again a 1/2 hour after 'noon' and watch until the height I recorded earlier returns when the sun is on its way down. During these time frames the sun is moving more quicky through the horizon so it is easier to get a good time. Then you average the time for the 'noon' time. This way you get a height as well as a more accurate time. It worked. I was able to get closer than I have been, but it is nothing like the pinpoint accuracy of the Halsey Herroshoffs who create little triangles with a mile or less accuracy. I am glad my ocean is big.

Today I had a good meditation time with the ocean in the wee mornin hours. It has become my writing time or I should say dictation time. Today, we spoke of the incredible creative energy in every new moment and the endless possibilities that offer themselves to us each day when we look up from our tasks long enoug to look. I am enoying being able to look up myself. I even wrote a short morning salutation chant per sae...It is nice to see the whimsical me have an opportunity to express my self.

Keepin On Sailin On a Dream....Each new day is a new creation, unique...anything can happen. Everything will change. Presence allows us to manifest the life we have to live today. Fresh...

fairest of winds and the love of the ocean only Gratitude, Donna
Comments

About & Links