SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

RAIN!!!

24 November 2015 | 39 45'S:84 33'E, Onward Ho
Donna: CPM 17 112215 1330UTC
I am gaining some rituas on board Inspired Sanity..One is having chicken soup, my favorite, on Saturday and Sunday nights. One can of chicken makes two well chickened 'spooges', laced with italian herbs and garlic...or maybe tarragon and chives. Tonight will be the second installment of my chicken soup privilege.

Sundays, I also try to call my mom. She has an entire assisted living community watching my progress as my most endeared supporter from the very first experiences sailing on the traditional tall ship, to going to the Caribbean , on into my byuying my boat and carrying on the way I do, sailing it around the world. My mom, above all, enjoys these blogs and hearing my tales of adventure, and so far, I always come out shining.

The weather had progressed exactly as the Grib files had suggested it would, though I had even more favorable wind at times. Last night, again, the winds were light, but they were enough to keep IS steering and I rested in between alarms, only having to check my compass inside to see my course. A couple of small adjustments in the course and the dawn faithfully started a brand new day.

I was particularly involved with communication today and keeping up with the changes in Bob's schedule...He was going to need to go north again, to do a late fall delivery and needed to organize the details. This is the hardet part of such a job...the spontaneity with which the schedule changes, he gets a call, and has to fly out in a day or so to keep the boats moving where they need to go.

I was hearing back as well, from Joan and Jen, as well as I had responses from my enquiries to the Aussi and NZ meteorological orgs. I am still trying to get charts sent straight from the weather bureaus as it is not easy for someone to have to do it for me. But,, thanks still to Mike and Cam who download two different maps which are both vital to giving me some long term looks at what is coming down the pike. Thanks to Joan who keeps the buoy weather information handy, amidst her own yachting challenges.

The day was pleasant but there was a growing number of rain squalls all around me...I was just chagrin that they were missing me. So I settled below with my book, Writer's Journey, for a chapter and was inspired to get going on my book. I pulled up the first section of the book which takes II and I from Florida to RI to begin preparation.

I was making some headway and Anam Cara was steering faithfully... but getting uncomfortable sitting so I got up to stretch my legs...the movement of the boat was minimal in the light winds. They were all over the place but so light that I just kept the boat tame...had most of the sail furled or reefed. I was just about to sit back down having made a cup of tea, when I heard a 'tap tap tapping' sound on the deck...It was beginning to rain lightly. I put my cup down, and by the time I got the companionway hatches moved, it was really raining...I looked around me and the entire sky was occluded by clouds...RAiN...finally.

I had no idea how long it would last...if it was just a squall but it was enough rain to at least capture enough for a day or two as I had done yesterday in a squall. And with the light winds, it was a truly optimal situation. I got a bucket and bungy cords and headed to the mast. I have a hook on one of my reef lines which nicely holds the bucket handle and then I use the bungy to wrap around the bucket keeping it from swaying around....already there was beautiful clear water running down the boom to the mast. A taste test? It is sweet.

As I realize that the rain is not just momentary, I get out my next level of catching paraphernalia...foam pieces to stuff in the scuppers, my dinghy baiing pump, and more buckets. In order for me to use the scuppers for water, they have to clear of salt water and then stay clear...so, regardless of the boats intended course, I steered the boat downwind. That would level the boat, keeping the low freeboard rails above water...I doused the jib to slow us down. By the time I was ready to collect the water, the deck was rinsed and sure enough, the scupper water was sweet.

It never really rained hard...If it had, I could fill my tank with water as fast as the dinghy pump would fill buckets. The deck is a huge collection surface...the water that doesn't make it to the bucket at the mast, falls off the boom and I can get it from the deck. I had a couple of moments when it started to really rain, and I could't keep up..but unfortunately, the rain was light, but miraculously...it just continued to rain. One line of clouds would pass, I would take a break to warm my hands and then I would hear the pattering again.

I was able to collect 20-30gals of water...enough to refill my inboard tank and to fill a bucket and a half which I would keep in side. It is good to have some water separate...God forbid anything should happen to the the boat tank. I also have a bladder filled with 12 gal of spare water as well, so we have enough for a few weeks in reserve. I still have containers to collect 15 more gallons, if we should need it. Hopefully, these kinds of days will come by every once in a while...though they are 'no sail' days when I make no headway..obviously, they are vital to my preservation...It has saved days of trying to make contact to get water later.

But by the end of the hustling...I had exhausted my energy dramatically. I was listless as I made something for dinner between the last bits of rain. It was dark by the time I conceded that the drizzle was not going to amount to enough more water and I pulled in the bucket from the mast, put the pump away...I hauled out the jib and got the boat on a course that was moving east in whatever fashion we could. The truth was that the day was going to be a day we would have had to tack off anyway as the winds were from the east all morning. So at least now, they had shifted north. We could sail SE not too far off course. I was going to need to do some southing anyway to get below the high system coming. Finally we were all set and I was actually heading below to stay.

All of a sudden I realized I was soaked through my raincoat, down my front.... but I was too tired to find all new clothes. I stripped off the outer wettest layers and sat on the bed with a warm cup of tea and the pot between my knees.

The boat was soaked as well, my pillow and all. I hadn't paid enough attention. With us pointed downwind, it had been raining down into the boat the entire time. Every time I came in and out with buckets to pour into my tank, an open through plate on the galley floor, I would do my best not to spill, but the floor was soaked. Even my Tigger was wet. The temperatures were certainly moderate, but in the breeze it was cold enough. I really hadn't been able to get organized from the last storm days. It was a mess.

But it would all have to wait until morning...I had no energy left...my eyes were too heavy. I made an attempt to call Bob as he was going to be traveling for the next few days, but no luck. by the time I actually layed down, it was almost 11pm my time. How did it get so late?

The winds had died to a calm. I had to get back out and wrangle the sails into 'becalm mode' shortening the jib...I put a reef in the main so the larger sail wouldn't backwind all night. Finally, the for the last time, I heeded the call of something on deck that just wasn't lashed or right. I could hear that the rudder was starting to thump in the becalm hobbying of the boat. I would have to get back into the stern and try tightening the stuffing box again. The moon would be full in a couple of nights...I could see squall lines sill out there in the moonlight...but we were good to go for now.

It seemed endless the mental inventory that went on until I finally stopped...breathed and sigh. I centered myself and was able to fall off to sleep. The alarms went off and I would listen to see if we were moving, as when the wind would come up, it would start to sail us where ever the steering was set to go. But I heard nothing. The 0100 alarm went off and I was too dazed asleep ...I turned it off but never really checked to see if we were sailing off course. It was a couple hours later that I woke and was jolted out of bed as I realized we were moving and saw on the compass that we were going nearly due north...'wrong;'!.

I got us on course, went to the bathroom, and found I was famished...i would not be able to sleep I was so hungry. So I made up a pot of oatmeal... I would have it again later if I needed to, but I was hungry. Being cold and wet the day before burned some energy and even my chicken soup didn't hold me.

I headed back to bed... the dawn was already brightening the portholes. I would sleep now.

A new week begins... By the time I pulled my head out from under my polar fleece, a very dense material that really prevents the sunlight from infiltrating, it was well into the morning...We were off course again, but moving very slowly. I just couldn't worry about it. I was sore all over, and I still had a mess to clean up from the victorious acquisition of water the day before.

As I went on deck to get us going on course, I was overwelmed by the lovely day...so warm. The birds were all out in the bright sunshine. I sang 'You are my sunshine' to each one as they flew by, and then found myself in tears...true sobbing. I was just so tired emotionally as well as physically drained. Somehow, I am quite sure that somewhere in my pshyche, my old self was hoping I was going to have to stop in Tasmania...actually would have loved to lay over...but now that I had water on board, there was no stopping. I had another five months before I would see land. It was a letting go again and again, this time to let go of another life I have lead, galavanting the world as a musician...It was brilliant for that time. But it was a lifestyle that was as a drifter with no home and now I have home.

There would be no stunts trying to get water from a yacht or fishing boat, endless nights close to land to stand watch and worry about being without a proper chart ... All the drama fell away. I could feel my being connect with the sea in a deep way, now longing to have more of these beautiful pleasant days when I can sing to the birds, enjoy the sun...catch water when I need to ... where being alive amidst nature is enough. I lingered....

Sure enough, I was good and hungry still, so I made up a new pot of oats and fruit..tea and then set out to catch up on the email I neglected the night before. All good news. Weather updates including buoy information, weather charts from Mike and CAm... and now Bob McD had a plan for me to manage the next week of highs and fronts... mostly validating my thoughts as well. It is his long term prowess, able to look farther ahead, that will be most valuable and then of course his knowledge of the islands.

Though there are plenty of squall clouds about, the day has been a pristine spring day... perfect for drying out after the maelstrom of wetness of the day before. EVErything went out on deck, pillows, wet clothes, my instruments... And then out of nowhere it seemed a tiny rain cloud would find us to sprinkle a kiss...I would hustle everything back in under cover, until the finally gave way to total sun.

It is nearing the end of the month and I have a few staples that are running low, so I decided, despite my exhaustion, that today was the day to dig through the mess, organize things, and get out the new stores for december. I counted the packages of food again..Yes, there are still four left... this month is 'hump month'. By Christmas I will be on my way back home, going closer to home with each day, instead of farther away.

As I was out and about on deck, finally, I could not resist stripping the layers of clothing I had been wearing for weeks, more than a month...I gave way to some new clothes...especially the inner layers which I did not change out in November. My favored turtleneck poly shirt and cropped other turtle neck spandex shirt were brown...It was time. But it is interestng as they don't have any foul smell...I think it is the overall cold temperatures..I live in a refrigerator literally...50*f. Though it is warming. I decided to opt for some less warm cloths, putting things away that I may need later when the temperatures return to 45*f... Beneath New Zealand and rounding Cape Horn.

I am exhausted..I think to myself. I am not in balance somehow. I guess I may have to resort to taking the 'one a day' vitamins I have on board. I feel like Raggedy Ann. I only have two servings of veggies a day. I have this veggie powder, and maybe now that I feel I have enough water...I will force myself to drink the powder in water...I was counting on it as a real veggie powerdrink...but it tastes strangely sweet. I put the beet powder in wiith the spinach and kale powder...I should have left them separate. They would be palatable each on their own...At the time of preparation, it was convenient to mix them in one bucket...but I think I am low on B vits.

The day has blossomed into a full sun day, winds gentle out of the west...we are wing on wing, wallowing a bit...sails clanging ...the winds are lightening up with the sun setting slowly. I cooked up my dinner soup...thai tuna... with a bit of curry and powdered PB2...for a peanut sauce flavor. I am realizing that I am going to be able to eat my dinner sitting on the companionway threshhold...something I have not been able to do since I was in the North Atlantic...it has been too rough or too cold to leave the hatches out. For the moment, spring has sprung. I have always said that I know when life is good offshore with Inspired, now, Sanity, and I when I can sit on the threshhold for dinner under a sunset sky. And today is one of those days.

Keepin On Sailin On a Dream... A tid bit from February 19, 2007, in the South Atlantic on my way home.

"Never Never Never Give Up Caring..to invest in life, consciously investing whether in relaxing, experiencing, giving, learning. The energy you put into your life will draw that life to you." The investments I have made have drawn this incredible experience of my life to me. I am responsible. The investment in talents has drawn the magnificence of the great times. The desire to know truth has taken me to incredibly hard times, a unique path though in many ways, common to all. The investment in skills has enabled me to follow this path and find what I was seeking. The sea has been a mirror of my soul allowing me to see what is within me. Even now, as my spirit is trusting and resting in the truth of love's presence and ableness, the sea brings gentleness. There is a path from wherever we have come to, to a place of peace and happiness. There is a way. It is the belief in this that kept me moving forward in my journey amidst all the set backs. Many thanks to the wonderful supportive friends who are loving me through my process. May I extend to you that support along your path. We are all doing the very best we can...love will do the rest. xoxoxo d

Fairest of Winds and the Love of the Ocean Only Gratitude Donna

�"Sent from my RedPort Aurora Satellite Terminal http://www.globalmarinenet.com/product/redport-aurora/ www.globalmarinenet.com www.ushuaialogistics.com www.xaxero.com www.transmarinepro.co.nz http://www.mwxc.com Chris Parker weather services www.jamestowndistributors.com www.bellplantation.om (PB2) www.caphorn.com www.marinemotion.com http://sayitright.com www.yoloadventure.com www.islandplanetsails.com www.baconsails.com
Comments

About & Links