SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

Flowing Energy

02 December 2015 | 39 05'S:104 55'E, The Clearing path
Donna: CPM 22 120315 0017UTC
Flowing Energy Well, the Grib files validate a need to stay north of 40S and to slow my easting to let this low coming SE off the Aussi coast go by, and then there is another strong low moving NE from the Southern Ocean that moves into the southern basin. It is moving more east but definitely makes a presence as high as 40*S...

So..I can't imagine going to 35*30'E as that is nearly hitting Aussi but I will keep a NNE move and will stay north of that second low and then following the west winds south... per Bob McD recommendations...it is ugly to the south and the east.

Mike, your chart shows a bit of a lull in major storms to the west so all looks great actually after that..though storms seems to just 'appear' in this part of the world off of Australia...the Grib file pressure (hPa) files show the low while it is on land which is very handy as it makes much more sense to me ...as I can see the center of the low descending..otherwise. what is on the water doesn't show the low center at all.

It is getting hard to slow down as the winds are building and perfect for doing three degree days...it is hard to stop right now; I am so ready to get around the capes...but I can't go through a hurricane to get there...

Today I am so aware of all of your prayers and amazing support. Your energy in your prayers is making such a difference..the sun even decided to shine today. I am doing much better... a great blessing.

One of the most resounding truths that comes alive out here, is the reality that we can direct our own energy, our mental energy, our very being, across the energy fields of the world...all of physics wave and energy field theory validates it all. But to me, the proof is in the satellite phone's ability to connect my voice 10,000 miles away using the energy of a tiny battery that uses micro amps to make it happen. If that phone can make that impact with that little energy, than our brain and spirit energy can dramatically change energy fields across distances.

Near this time of my last trip, I encountered these very intense storms that we are seeing now...but I did't avoid them well at all, sailing monstrous seas and winds over and over...I was so exhausted physically and emotionally by the time I made it to the Bass Straits...I managed to time it on purpose, slowing my crossing into the banks, so that I had a gentle two days there and recooperated a little... it warmed a bit but I was close to land so I stil did not recover my sleep deprivation at all... AS I was leaving the Bass Straits, a black wall of water was following me. As I got past the last of the out islands into clear water, it caught up with me...I dropped my sails and a huge frontal system ravaged Inspired Insanity, the water falling as buckets out of the sky pounding the decks. It was like having a huge train running over us, the pounding and the sound... The first line of the storm passed and I set a hanky of a jib and we were off, full speed as the seas built... I would do two more of those as I worked my way NE across the TAsman sea to go over the north tip of New Zealand... It was after the second storm went through that I was at the end of my capacity physically as much as mentally. I had met Pat Henry by email and she sent me her book...which I had read...it was a wonderful real story of growth and change as she became an incredible painter during her circumnavigation of the world over 8 years. Somehow, there was an email address in the book and somewhere i got her phone number... I was at this very desperate place that I called her. I was needed to hear her voice...a woman who understood where i was and what I was going through. I barely was able to get her to hear who I was and why I was calling and we lost reception. I could not get her back... but I was encouraged none the less... and miraculousy within a few hours the horrible rolling and windlessness following the storm ended and a perfect light breeze arose; a steady breeze. I set my steering vane and went below to truly sleep... Later, she was able to email me that her phone actually ran out of minutes at that moment..but she was with a group of ladies all out sailing and they joined hands and spirits and prayed for me...yes. the winds responded half a world away.

I have been able to contact Jeanne Socrates, the amazing woman who became the oldest woman to solo the world non-stop...a few years ago. But her story is so much deeper than this amazing accomplishment. This was her third attempt to circumnavigate, the first not a nonstop journey, ended with the loss of her boat only a thousand miles from completing the circ... She has had such a knowing and desire for the sea it is incredible to me... when I think that the most challenging parts of this trip has been when I am returning to places I have had already, intense challenges...I think how Jeanne overcame it all to be so successful in her journey.

It was such a blessing to hear from her today...I had an old email that did 't work so Bob did some research and contacted her...sending me her response... Jeanne has successfully sailed the 'Island Capes' and I am so thankful to have her encouragment and resource for input on this area of the world ... especially. She is sending me on her radio contacts from her trip which will allow me to, once again,, talk to folks locally ...I am so looking forward to that connection...I think it will be a wonderfu energy boost.

Those same winds respond when you are all wishing me safe journeys...truly, I have had an indcrediblely moderate trip... and I so believe it is because of all of your energy flowing to me... I can't possbiliy find words to express my inward thanks and excitement... This kind of focus of energy in such positive ways is the only hope our world has today. Any time we are manifesting the positive life giving, caring energy, it is changing the whole world's energy fields...WE EACH MAKE A DIFFERENCE! every moment of our life that we allow our inner enegy of life and love to flow out into the life energy around us...

Truly, it is a calling to all of us..it is the calling I want so much to answer... GEtting past all this negativity built up over the years of challenges to release the true inner self that is empowered by positive life giving energy.

Thank you all with all my heart.

Keepin On Sailin ON a Dream... Letting go of any negativity and allowing the flow of life to take over more and more and more and more....

Fairest of Winds and the Love of the Ocean Only Gratitude Donna

�"Sent from my RedPort Aurora Satellite Terminal http://www.globalmarinenet.com/product/redport-aurora/ www.globalmarinenet.com www.ushuaialogistics.com www.xaxero.com www.transmarinepro.co.nz http://www.mwxc.com Chris Parker weather services www.jamestowndistributors.com www.bellplantation.om (PB2) www.caphorn.com www.marinemotion.com http://sayitright.com www.yoloadventure.com www.islandplanetsails.com www.baconsails.com
Comments

About & Links