SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

Front coming tonight

09 December 2015 | 39 34'S:118 41'E, A good weather window ahead
Donna: CPM 18 120715 0342UTC
Today I am on a distant approach to Tasmania, managing to make it through the field of storms and wind shifts with the help of Bob McDavitt... today we had a very good communication as I was honest with him in regard to my being able to follow a regiment like he presents me with each day... winds, my course to travel, and estimates as to my progress that align with the weather at each expected point...

I am not able to be that precise especially with the lack of the GPS...I am checking my course and speed based on averages of one or two positions, using a more consistent approach to making headway, versus micro managing each wind shift directly trying to adjust course to get each lift of wind, needing to have an idea exactly where I am on a course. The winds dictate my sailing no matter what a forecast might say anyway..I can only sail what is blowing and was rarely on the schedule.

I so appreciate and need his help and wisdom as it is necessary to help me safely navigate the upcoming challenging areas. He was very gracious with his return email suggesting that he would adjust his approach to a more general set of suggestions... I was so relieved.

By tomorrow I should be past one more time zone... only three more until I get to th international date line which will mean I will be past NZ and into the Pacific Ocean.

Today was a much needed non-violent day, the seas finally settling to gentle swells and the sun warm...yet the breeze sitll very chilled...It was a surprise to me today when I went to refill my bucket that i use for washing dishes with salt water...The water was really warm...absolutely not what I thought it would be...well, that could explain the continual convection type clouds and rain squalls around. In the North Atlantic, you can tell where the warm water of the Gulf Stream is by the band of squally clouds that form over it. I so wish I could access the internet weather and take a real look at the water temps.

There is so much research that I didn't do before I left that would offer some good information now and is just interesting; Like all the bird classification information; Fishing suggestions for fish in this territory of the world... ; rain expectations and so on... it is all there on the internet now and easy to access. Bob and I have an array of websites we use for weather routing for yacht deliveries as well... I will get a list of site together that you might find interesting if you have never done any weather reserach on your own.

Over the last few weeks, I have touched base within a wonderful circle of women friends that I have known for so many years as well as some new friends. So many of them are such mentors to me as they have developed their lives, so many are successful entrepreneurs building businesses doing the things they truly are so gifted doing...from counseling, to graphic artwork, to timber frame construction businesses... I love to spend time with them as they have a powerful centered energy that exudes a wonderful grace and dignity...they are certainly role models though my path has taken me to far reaching places these last 15 years...our hearts are still knit as we encourage each other on our way.

I got a very timely email this morning... actually, I didn't get the original email as it was too big..whatever it was that she sent... but she ended up catching me at a moment when I was being embraced by a bout with Sea Madness enhanced by a bit of PMS... in the sameness, the same irritations...somehow I found myself overwhelmed by fears and doubts about my return... and having an intereseting experience as I became animated, becoming the Wiicked Witch of the west until...she was Melted and I totally identified with the melting of the egoic strategy that wants me to give in to fear...but instead..the fear melted and I got this great email.

I tossed off a strange email to Kathy at the time and she was so amazing to stay up , as it turned out to be a late hour in RI, to answer back with wonderful honest and gracious encouragement that time would work it out. She exclaimed..to be NICE TO YOURSELF in the subject... so, by the time I got it ...the experence had passed and I was left with a tainted emotional oppression that lifted nicely as I was encouraged.

And of course the whole experience lead me back to my reading and to embrace the fears and doubts...clear them as they are all based in past memories and conclusions from the past, that are not a determinant of the future and certainly are not going to allow me have a fresh new look in presence, not now...not tomorrow, not when i return.

And then the day took over, the sunshine and warm. I found my self working away on deck. There was damage to the main sail during one of the fronts as the jib sheet ended up riding up under the boom where the overhanging reefed sail fabric was caught between the boom and the line under it... there were severall areas where the fabric wore right through...so...given the winds were so light this morning..it was a perfect time to drop the main and stitch a patch over it... The sail repair fabric I have is not very heavy or sticky...so i have to stitch it in place, though I don't try to mimic a machine stitch...a good running zigzag stitch tends to work fine.

Once I had the needle and palm out, i repaired my dodger zipper where it had come off the front panel ... the blessing of a nice day and what a refreshment..just to be outside. I finally did a few exercises this evening but by the time I got to it, the winds had aleady picked up from the west... Pole out on the jib, we are sailing along great on a good course.

The winds are suppose to still clock a bit so I don't know what kind of night we will have...the front is really approaching now so it may get squally which will mean i will be on deck through the night reefing as needed to decrease sail area until I get it balanced out ... I need to keep moving as well as i can but need to decrease the sail enough so that when gusts come through, they may overpower us some, but not dramatically or in a way to jeapordize something breaking... Hopefully, it will not be too gusty. This is not as significant of a front as the next one.

It is good to be moving with winds from the stern...The motion is more side to side below and with much less G forces than when the winds are forward of the beam or midship. Strange how t hings are so relative... not too long ago, it was the wallowing side to side for days on end that was so hard...now, after a week of being squased with heavy winds and seas on the beam...the wallowing doesnt seem so bad. Plus... I should stay in my bed a lttle better tonight.

I have had a nice dinner...I have taken to precooking the grains and vegetables in a large batch every three days or so to allow them to cook more fully. I was concerned that I am not digesting them if they are undercooked...and I truly do need the nutrition and calories...It seems to be working great.

My diet is essentially the same every day... a little chicken or tuna, I have some Jerkies that I toss into soups too... and some variety of canned fishes or seafood...I had some smoked mussels for lunch... And a nice bowl of popcorn for a snack tonight to warm up...It is a cold night and the popcorn with the hot pot between my knees was nearly as good as cuddliling up to a fire...well, maybe not as romantic but warm anyway.

Keepin ON SAilin ON a DREam... Inspired Sanity continues to be my coccoon of discovery...it seems that one way or another... I am being mentored along my way. Today began with reverence and approach and will end that way... cuddling into presence for some rest amidst the call of the winds...

Fairest of Winds and the Love of the Ocean Only Gratitude Donna

�"Sent from my RedPort Aurora Satellite Terminal http://www.globalmarinenet.com/product/redport-aurora/ www.globalmarinenet.com www.ushuaialogistics.com www.xaxero.com www.transmarinepro.co.nz http://www.mwxc.com Chris Parker weather services www.jamestowndistributors.com www.bellplantation.om (PB2) www.caphorn.com www.marinemotion.com http://sayitright.com www.yoloadventure.com www.islandplanetsails.com www.baconsails.com
Comments

About & Links