SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

Calypso Blue Crsytal Sea

16 December 2015 | 43 40'S:135 22'E, 4th day of Christmas my true love gave to me, four Stormy Petrels!
Donna: CPM 10 121515 0800UTC
Calypso Blue Crsytal Sea 4th day of Christmas my true love gave to me, four Stormy Petrels!

How rare...a totally blue sky to awake to...the sun is already well above the horizon before I venture from my bed..for though it is bright above, it is still cold, the lack of a thermal blanket of clouds lead to a bright brisk morning breeze. I am quick to get my teapot brewing and porridge with dry fruits cooking. But I am looking forward to my early morning rendezvouses with the sea once it warms again.

The night watches were magnificent, as once again, my soul connects with Orion, glaring at me as I look out the companionway, aleady nearing its destination on the western horizon at the early morning hour. The Crux, what I consider the Southern Cross, and Rigel Kentuarus Alpha and Beta, the feet of Centaurus, two brilliant stars side by side, are actually ascending through the night as they move gently in the most southern sky to my starboard. Scorpious is long gone to sleep in the SW sky. I am due for a bit of star gazing to find some new compadres for my southern roaring 40s journey ...I am just a bit willy when it comes to the cold...but I have hopes that the summer warming will entice me to the evening watches, just because I love to be on deck in the nights.

Finally, I could not resist the gorgeous sunshine, and I headed above to take it all in, the gently rolling nearly flat seas, just bubbling by the boat; the hull moving a swift wave forward and away, white crested and catching the morning sun so as to sparkle. During my very first 'pond' crossing, I had so much harsh weather, that when the sun came out and glistened on the water, I came to call the sparkles ' my good ferries' as they jump about dancing merrily. This morning, my ferries are busy adorning the water with lots of sparkling glitter...

But what drew my being, was the color of the ocean water with the sunshine above,... it was my crystal like translucent cobalt blue that I so enjoyed in the Atlantics and would bask in when I would swim, the reflection of blue so embracing that it was as if the water itself was blue and bathing me in all the riches of the ocean energy

But this morning I realized that the color is truly what Ted Hood had in mind when he created the Stars and Stripes blue of Bob's Little Harbor 44, Calypso...that translucent blue grey is exactly how the water appeared today, my photo a poor mirror image, yet if you saw Calypso...you would see it...In fact Inspired Sanity's water line is similar...an awl grip poor rendition...it lacks that very translucence and rich blue hue, going a bit too grey. But... now that I see the inpiration for this color, Bob and I will have to ensure that the new paint for the Calypso, due for this season, is the right blue... Calypso Blue...forever to me.

I was reading back through my earlier blogs, getting them organized to edit into my book and came across these song lyrics that I wrote, the very first day I climbed overboard into the water to swim and was overwhelmed by the beauty of the hue of the sea...

Takes The Blue Right out of the Blues - song 8-22-15 Blue Celestial layers drawing nigh, to create the air and sky light hues, To touch the spirit soaring high, The sky, she is so blue, She takes the blue right out of the blues

Sunlight, it passes through, reflects the blue of the heavens bright, Translucence gives pure joy surprise, The sea, she is so blue, she takes the blue right out of the blues.

As Sky and Sea call unto thee, love belongs within so free, Life itself is drawing you, Love it is so true, It takes the blue right out of the blues.

We had our speculative inquiry today regarding the upcoming storm... Bob McD is going away for the day so he was kind enough to get it off to me ahead. It seems that the storm, as I see it, is still grossly evolving... though to Bob McD, he may see it as a much slower evolution as he is deriving his model from other information. The instructions he gave me today were in regards to a suggestion I had made the day before...as I was hoping that when the winds ahead of the storm go NE that I would be able to start a SE descent towards the tip of Tasmania... and he confirmed that as a feasible plan...I will north a bit before hand to avoid the peak of the 30kt winds and then be able to start SE when the storm approaches.

I went ahead and I downloaded a new Grib file for today... and again, the storm had 'evolved dynamically', and in my favor... though there will be inclement easterlies ahead of the storm to manage, the storm intensity has changed it's shape, taking the storm center dramatically south west of me to gain strength, with a frontal boundary to the north, much less intense, less seastates which will allow me to begin descent without too much worry about any prolonged high winds above 30kts..The proof is always in the gusts and squalls...they are what take the average winds and make them dramatically stronger, making it difficult to set a sail plan that will be conservative enough to not blow us over in the gusts, but still allow us to make maximum headway. Still to be seen.

So I am making as much easting as I can, as it will diminish the storm intensity and when the high ahead of the storm reaches me...later tonight or morning, I will just sail what I have. When the winds fill in from the S and the SE I will sail a bit north to ease the conditions and give me some running room north of the stronger winds from the NE, backing to the NW... so we are back on the slippery slope heading to Tasmania...

The follow through of the storm will be another huge high ridge that will usher in the next storm front... I can see the red 30+kt flags approaching on the Grib, but this second storm is to have developed maximum winds to the west and will be ducking the islands with reasonable winds I so pray.

The sunshine and sea breeze was luring me above...there would have to be a rain check on working on the books today. I have to get outside to do some exercises and fill up with the ocean energy surrounding me... I felt a longing to be present on the deck... and I was not disappointed.

Breathing... I opened my entire being to each breath of the still brisk air to fill my lungs, breathing out all the tension of being cooped up and sitting all morning. As I did, I felt a hesitation within my being....I had been listening to Celtic Christmas music as I was doing my log... There was something that didn't feel right as I felt a resurgence of a religious energy that was somehow attached to the holiday music, despite the beauty of the birth and symbolism of Jesus's arrival, born as a child; . But Jesus's divinity was able to manifest the true pathway to maturity in perfect oneness with God, in the trinity.

The term 'God' has carried so many connotations with it throughout history that it has been getting stuck in my ear with confusion... I cannot wrap my being around the preconceived ideas and ideologies, having studied for many years as a bilble college student. I have a tremendous bank of historical exposure to all the dogma, the terms of worship and praise of God. But the holy golden majestic cathedrals to God, just are not fitting the reverence and essence of God within a child, Jesus, who came as a servant to bring us life.

So... as I was breathing...I began to do my exercises, and they became very animated, full of life... I was chatting with wise mother ocean, who I now understand as a unique identity as I am, a vessel, not the source, life force itself... we are both peers as it were filled and one being with 'The life force'... and suddenly it seemed appropriate to just embrace the term 'LIFE' as the 'name' for this entirety of the essence of the creative, omnipotent, omniscient, omnipresent, life giving force of the universe... Life...it is... LIfe consciousness, Life empowered, Life giving... and all that is Life giving IS...The Great I AM...

With that epiphany, my being opened so wide, I just drank in Life energy freely, engulfed in the beauty of the Calypso blue energy surging around me, filling me, inspiring me with Life... Hallelujah.. and so be it. It seems the foundation for all decision making then becomes determining to what extent a choice brings Life into a situation for all parties involved... Life becomes the standard of all existence..and Life can only be experienced in the Now... It all comes full circle.

I have been tampering with ideas for entrepreneurial ventures when I return... one of them that has popped up would be to develop charters that are extended personal seminars on the Clearing Path...and suddenly the term Life Charters came to me... but that may be a bit presumptuous... I guess I will stick with the plan to let the future unfold and to take the time at sea to listen and study...to grow in my capacity for Life.

My bird friends have been out galavanting elsewhere... a single stormy petrel... in lieu of our 4th day of Christmas did come... and one white petrel...that was kind of limping about... I hope it is going to be fine...

The sun is heading for Bob and all of you in the EST time world...of course, it is our world that is spinning me out of the sunlight... but, we don't need to be so literal, do we? My dearest hope is that your day will be filled with Life giving energy from within your Life source... infinite, sustainable, love.

Keepin On Sailin On Caring... Allowing Life to fill you with all you need so that the overflow of energy and caring spills over 'superfluidly', surrounding everyone you meet.

"Your center is your place of power. When you remain there, the universe will channel everything you need. It's as if your actions are superfluid, a term used in physics to describe the state of no resistance and no friction...(from a place of being centered)...you will have access to your place of power, the still point in a turning world. " Deepak Chopra

Fairest of Winds and the Love of the Ocean Only Gratitude Donna

�"Sent from my RedPort Aurora Satellite Terminal http://www.globalmarinenet.com/product/redport-aurora/ www.globalmarinenet.com www.ushuaialogistics.com www.xaxero.com www.transmarinepro.co.nz http://www.mwxc.com Chris Parker weather services www.jamestowndistributors.com www.bellplantation.om (PB2) www.caphorn.com www.marinemotion.com http://sayitright.com www.yoloadventure.com www.islandplanetsails.com www.baconsails.com
Comments

About & Links