SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

Cold, bitter cold..

28 December 2015 | 49 05'S:164 08'E, Nearing Cape West on Stuart Island NZ longitude
Donna: CPM 11 122615 2324UTC 12-27 local 1425
Nearing Cape West on Stuart Island NZ longitude Cold, bitter cold.. Yesterday afternoon, the winds finally did calm a bit...enough that i went out and put the mainsail back up... and yes...i even caught some water off the boom... and as the night moved in, the rain continued..the endless sound tapping on the cabin top. It became a nemesis as inwardly, I knew that my opporunities to catch water are precarious at best... and it is raining.

But it is so so cold and I just finally got warmed up from being out for the time earlier, I got all my inner clothes wet around my wrists and then with subsequent fast dashes out to adjust the steering, I was just wet ... I know that is what raincoats are for, but the raincoat feels as wet inside as out at this point. I have other foul weather coats... but I would see what needed to be adjusted and just do it.

Fiinally, I had to go out and let the jib out...we were not going fast enough... so I got all my clothes on, waders and all, and got myself out on deck. And once there, I succombed to the tugging of my conscience to try to catch water...it was actually actively raining at that moment...not just a drizzle. I adjusted the course to go downwind, and furled the jib all the way in so I only was on a third reefed main... The boom was dripping nicely but there was no way to catch the water there without holding the bucket and the deck should produce much more rain..it has the whole deck as a surface area to catch water.

I got out the dinghy pump with the long hose and set up a bucket, used the foam blocks I had cut and filled the scupper. It was slow going as it really wasn't 'raining hard, but it was constant' and I had to get water from the upper rail..the windward rail, though I had doused the jib and was downwind, was still taking on some salt water..the seastate was just still too confused, and over 10' of swell so we were tossing around still... but it was my best chance. Over the course of 2 hours, I collected 5 gallons of water between the boom and the deck. Enough for 10 days. I need more like 20 more gallons to get to the ITC zone ...so I have to rally more rain... but if I can get some off each storm...It will get me there. Hopefully, I will get a really appropriate rain storm with flatter seas and less wind some where in the Pacific and I won't have to worry about it any more.

It is amazing the things that prick my being as I realize just how far away I am from home and what resources I have on board to make it all the way. Things are wearing out...I am down to one little flashlight that does't always work and one that uses a battery size I don't have more of..it was a secret find... I was glad to find, but didn't stock C batteries. Just small things, the bedding is now 'wet'. not just damp from the water seeping in. lighters... Another one just stop making a spark... I have a couple more...and then a real hand sized torch for seering line ends and heat shrink..but it will light the stove if necessary.

I was realizing today that I really didn't have any emergency communication plan set up though I had made contact with the NZ Taupo Radio and emailed the NZ radio station, who I am sending position reports to already, but if I really had an emergency, I have no way to contact them. The SOS on my tracker goes to the US...routed back somehow to NZ... So I sent a link direct to the Maritime radio station from the Delorme tracker. Plus their email address is now in the tracker so if I need to contact them, it is there...all I have to do it type in the SOS and information they would need and it will automatically send my position with the message. They wll have the link to get to my tracking page, but the auto tracking only goes out every 4 hours. I would have to continue to send them my position. But at least I have a good plan...

I am totally safe and this is all just my mind obsessing in the cold.. It is when the mind starts to play out some potential disaster and I am thinking of what I would do next..that it ocured to me that I really had nothing in place to get help. But there is something about the cold that is similar but different than Sea Madness...it brings an uneasiness...I feel much better now that I have this in place. I have tried the SSB radio distress chanels several times and I am not being heard or hearing them so...it is good to have direct connection that is not relying on the electric plug on the boat to work.

I had a rough emotion day... The Grib is showing three more gales or sets of gale force winds in the next week...I have said that every week since nearing Aussi the first of December. The winds constantly are backing, clocking... blowing 20-30kts. Officially winds are to be 35kts to be gale force...so maybe I am exagerating a tad bit...but not much. So...

But we are so so close...I am actually nearly south of Snares Island as I type...just one more degree or so... I cross another time zone over night...passing 165*E. We have made decent time. It has helped that the longitudes are so short...only 35nm at 49*S... so they go by much faster down here. Once back at 45*, they will be 40nm again. So...that does help.

I am very close to some very wild islands...full of thousands of wildlife I would love to see...I just am not prepared to tough out the cold to go nearer and spend more time ... It is too bad I didn't really bring winter clothing and sleeping bag... boots... but. I didn't, so I am going to head back to where it is warmer...but my Bob did some fun investigating for me...

Bob: I see from your position that you are fairly far south at 49.33 S and 161.63 E. Delorme says you are doing 6.08 knots and heading at 67 degrees. Good on ya, ! There are a few island to look out for in that part of the world and I just want you to be aware of them. Auckland Island is located 290 miles south of New Zealand�'s South Island. It is actually a series of six uninhabited islands with narrow channels between. The island(s) lie between 50* 30�' and 50* 55�' S and 165*50�' and 166*20�' E. You are currently one degree north of the northernmost reaches of the islands, but still some distance west. Wikipedia says the islands were once used by whalers and sealers, but now are uninhabited, except for visiting scientists. The islands are now a bird sanctuary and have albatrosses, penguins, petrel and over 1 million pairs of sooty shearwaters. There is even a freshwater fish that starts its life in saltwater and returns to the islands freshwater rivers as an adult. That means there is freshwater there, Sweets. I have no idea how you would manage to sail in, anchor, collect water and sail away. Sounds a bit troublesome. The article talks of the numerous shipwrecks found on the island. Anyway, if you see some extra birds in the area, they may just be inhabitants of Auckland Island!"

And I have seen a new bird today... very different looking... thick body and broad wings, still a tube nosed though.... big white areas on the ends of its wings... it circled so close to the boat...it was definitely checkin me out..

Then today Bob sent this: I found this about Snares Island. The Island belongs to New Zealand and is located at: 48* 01�' S, 166* 32�' E. It is actually a group of island and the outermost island extend to the southwest a bit. If you got close enough, you would probably be the only person I know who has ever seen the Snares Penguin, the Snares Snipe, (a bird) and the Snares Tomtit.(another bird, I think.) Snares Island is also known as the world�'s premier breeding area for the Sooty Shearwaters, or Puffins. Apparently, 3 million of them show up every year for holiday. Think of it as South Florida in season. Three million extra people here for no apparent reason. You are there at the height of their breeding season and need a special permit from the New Zealand government to stop there. There is a dangerous reef (Seal Reef) that extends ten kilometers south of the island, so take a wide berth. You may get to see some of the seals from Seal Reef as you pass. That would be very cool. I love that I can find this info for you AND send it to you. This is amazing. You have made my day, my week, my month, my year. Thank you, Miss Donna. How do we get Zeb and your other grandkids to see this stuff and want to know about it? "

I may just send this blog on to my grandchildren and see what they think... As they are homeschooled...I should try to get them to do a report for extra credit...

I so have enjoyed seeing the seals...they are so personable..they don't just swim by...they engage... But today I have been huddled inside...no rain to force me out to catch it ...This morning the winds escalated back to gale height...I was down to the jib alone with just a hanky flying all morning... finally a bit ago, I let out more jib...and just a few minutes ago I put the main up...

The winds are 'supposed' to settle down overnight. There is a trough ahead of me with variable winds...so the night may be a low mile...just try to keep moving, type of night. Then tomorrow afternoon, the gale cycles begin... but they are not the norm... starting with SW winds then to NW...then to SSW.. W... but I will just keep sailing what is here...I am moving and will start moving towards 45*S hoping for warmer days soon.

I am so 'not being felt sorry for' by the majority of you getting these blogs who are putting up with 'real winter' conditions... I know.

One more glass of hot milk and cinnamon finished... I am going to send this blog and then go to bed... As the winds are still steady for the moment.. it is likely to change over night...so I will rest while i can...get my feet warm, not an easy thing to do.

I will leave you with a quote sent to me by a dear mutually a sailor, friend's email... �"...Regarding awakened souls, there have never been more able vessels in the waters than there are right now across the world. Look out over the prow; there are millions of boats of righteous souls on the waters with you. Even though your veneers may shiver from every wave in this stormy roil, I assure you that the long timbers composing your prow and rudder come from a greater forest. That long-grained lumber is known to withstand storms, to hold together, to hold its own, and to advance, regardless... There will always be times when you feel discouraged. I too have felt despair many times in my life, but I do not keep a chair for it. I will not entertain it. It is not allowed to eat from my plate. The reason is this: In my uttermost bones I know something, as do you. It is that there can be no despair when you remember why you came to Earth, who you serve, and who sent you here. The good words we say and the good deeds we do are not ours. They are the words and deeds of the One who brought us here. In that spirit, I hope you will write this on your wall: When a great ship is in harbor and moored, it is safe, there can be no doubt. But that is not what great ships are built for.�"writing by Clarissa Pinkola Este

Keepin On Sailin On Caring... It seems each day has it peaks and troughs of emotions and experiences, but inwardly, with but a single long glance, I know that I am blessed despite the coldness of my feet or hands... it is but for a very short time that I am uncomfortable and when will I ever be near such incredible untouched pristing beauty... Only Gratitude.

Fairest of Winds and the Love of the Ocean Only Gratitude Donna

�"Sent from my RedPort Aurora Satellite Terminal http://www.globalmarinenet.com/product/redport-aurora/ www.globalmarinenet.com www.ushuaialogistics.com www.xaxero.com www.transmarinepro.co.nz http://www.mwxc.com Chris Parker weather services www.jamestowndistributors.com www.bellplantation.om (PB2) www.caphorn.com www.marinemotion.com http://sayitright.com www.yoloadventure.com www.islandplanetsails.com www.baconsails.com
Comments

About & Links