SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

Acceptance: Day before the storm

06 January 2016 | 42 03'S:174 11'W, Made enough Northing!!! To 42*S and still northing
Donna: CPM 16 010516 0020UTC
Last night was beyond frustrating and exhausting... the winds just would not settle into a pace or direction. Again, I felt I had to reef and unreef with the periods of higher winds. And then they would change 60*T... I would try to rest, but with each alarm, the boat was completely amiss either with course, or we would be way underpowered. If the winds gust...I am alerted to reduce sail moreso...but when they lull, if I am able to fall asleep, I won't pick up the change. I woke feeling we had made no progress... but over the whole day, with the good periods of sailing, we actually did cover the 120nm to go from 44*30' S to 42*30' S. The effort was worthwhile. We are still heeled a bit, but we are in a reasonable rhythm and moving well enough.

By dawn, the winds filled in more consistently and I layed down and fell fast asleep, not waking until nearly 1000...my time..that is remarkable...but I woke feeling exhausted, my head congested, and just sore all over, with a bit of morning vertigo..which I can get occasionally. It goes away quite quickly...a couple of hours. But it was almost impossible to get out of bed in the heeling. So...I determined that today had to be a rest day. I need sleep and to eat, hydrate, and relax. I went back to bed for a nap after breakfast.

The weather update from Bob McD suggested that the storm has deepened but gotten smaller, the max winds at 43*S now to be 45kts gusting to 60... another emotional blow, as 45kts of wind is significantly more than what i have been dealing with...and for 8 -10 hrs... gusting to 60 is ... huge. Yet, reports from Mike and the Buoy weather forecasts show a less dramatic picture... I am just hoping that they are correct, though Bob McD has real time satellite to work with... I have had lesser conditions than predicted before. But it has deepend my resolve to get farther north. IS is sailing better, and we have gotten north of 42*S by this evening. We may get to 41*30' before gale force winds get here...though the gale winds of the frontal boundary extend all the way to 36*S, still any distance from the center is less seas... higher barometric pressure, and somehow it is eased. And I think it may have eased the following WSW winds. I am believing the best.

Bob has passed on all the wonderful energy and prayers from those he spoke with today who are aware of this upcoming storm... it is working...I feel better this afternoon...was a rough morning, not feeling well and being in prep mode for a huge storm. And I am confident that IS and I will manage the gale ahead fine. The whole storm takes a while to vamp up so it allows some dissipation of anxiety I think.

I am totally on reserve mode, took a nap, and resting today...IS is really ready. I got the sea anchor accessible in case something unusual happens... breaks, so she is ready to go. otherwise, I did not change out my Genny as my shoulder is just not up to a huge sail change and I think we are going to fine with the furled Genny to a hanky.

It has been amazing to go from feeling so assaulted by the weather, be angry, intimidated, and then finally, as in the grieving process, accept the situation as it is, forgive the intrusion that it is, and go on forward...it has taken a couple of days, but today I am in preparation mode, not avoidance mode..not that this storm can be avoided... but I can avoid it in my emotions and block the Life energy that is there for me to access to get through the situation. I have spent hours wandering the few feet i can around IS, tears falling down my cheeks in absolute appoplectic angst that I have to get through these next days...and now the same tears fall, but they are resolving and a flow of Life that is giving me confidence and a peace that will let me handle the situation to come as it does... for real, not anticipation...but the real thing... in the moment finding the right energy, the right solution... the strength.

Though , Bob, suggested that I could tuck in behind Chatham islands to wait it out if it was too dangerous or I was not up to it... It is important that I give myself the options of stopping..I have to choose to go on, versus feel like I have to, as that would be dangerous. And at this point Chatham Islands are now behind me, but also much closer to the center of the storm, and would be even more dangerous... We have gotten far enough north to fair well.

I am going to keep this blog short as I am tired... The Huge Great Albatrosses have been out in huge numbers to day... 6 at a time... a storm is coming for sure. Time for my supper, the sun is starting its last hours of descent, one more night to get rest. I am going to bed early with the steady winds to lull me to sleep. Tomorrow morning it will begin to escalate, by afternoon the main down and secured... tomorrow night will be a wild ride, but we are north enough...it will be fine.

big hugs to all of you, my dear friends, new and older...those of you who I know as followers on the blog but have become part of my team. .. I so appreciate every moment you are giving of your self to me...Your energy is changing the outcomes.

Keepin On Sailing On Caring... This quote so shares my heart of desire for my life... to emerge. Who I have been through my life has always been a creative expression of what is within me...And through this upcoming storm, I am going to open my being to the 'gold leaf lining' I will find amidst the intensity, the motion, the communion I will find myself clinging to with my own Being, Life which is ME... encompassing all that I am... As much as you are all in my heart and changing the energy in my situation...I will face this storm alone. The only one who can respond to it or receive the special dispensation of Grace for it... And I will not be disappointed.

" Each of us is emerging in every moment. When we discover our creativity, we begin to attend to this constant emergence of who we are. Or creativity is excited by what is new, different, and concealed within us. While the outside world has long settled for who we are in terms of name, personality and role, when we creatively engage our life, we enable the signature, taste and imprint of our uniqueness to emerge. This is what begins to emerge when we come to the desk and look into the mirror of the white page. beneath that white page, in the stillness, a harvest of untouched possibility waits." John O'Donohue, Divine Beauty p.153.

Fairest of Winds and the Love of the Ocean Only Gratitude Donna

�"Sent from my RedPort Aurora Satellite Terminal http://www.globalmarinenet.com/product/redport-aurora/ www.globalmarinenet.com www.ushuaialogistics.com www.xaxero.com www.transmarinepro.co.nz http://www.mwxc.com Chris Parker weather services www.jamestowndistributors.com www.bellplantation.om (PB2) www.caphorn.com www.marinemotion.com http://sayitright.com www.yoloadventure.com www.islandplanetsails.com www.baconsails.com
Comments

About & Links