SailBlog

Vessel Name: Inspired Insanity
Vessel Make/Model: Southern Cross 28
Hailing Port: Virgin Islands
Extra: First American Woman to Solo Sail Nonstop Around the World
Home Page: www.donnalange.com
Social:
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI
15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.
13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl
01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI
29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock
26 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, a day to tidy up...
25 May 2016 | 40 54'N:71 52'W, starry night sky, farewell dance for now...
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
25 May 2016 | 40 28'N:72 30'W, ?? Arrival to bay tomorrow afternoon: 2 days to events
24 May 2016 | 39 47'N:73 16'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
23 May 2016 | 39 11'N:74 00'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
22 May 2016 | 38 10'N:73 30-'W, 4 days to arrival..incredible to imagine...
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
21 May 2016 | 36 37'N:74 03'W, 5 days to arrive... made 157nm yesterday..only 300nm to go
20 May 2016 | 35 15'N:74 45'W, 6 days to arriving!!!
20 May 2016 | 34 27'N:75 19'W, 7 days to arriving!!!
18 May 2016 | 32 12'N:77 32'W, 8 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
17 May 2016 | 30 26'N:79 01'W, 9 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 27 45'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
16 May 2016 | 26 'N:79 48'W, 11 days to my arrival... keep an eye on the tracker!!
Recent Blog Posts
10 July 2016 | Bristol RI

Journeying On

The summer has barely begun in Rhode Island and the mornings already seem to be cool, almost a scent of autumn air… How is that possible? There is so much to do. Each day seems to begin and end with a sense of having been floating on air, my feet barely touching the ground. “What is it like now, [...]

15 June 2016 | 35 00'N:75 05'W, Another wild few days ahead... deja vu.

Passing Diamond Shoals off Cape Hatteras!!!

There was no warning�... the day touting varying winds from the SE to SW, the sails trimmed in and let back out over and over to keep us moving as fast as we could, the engine called upon when we weren�'t moving fast enough. I was making breakfast when Bob went up on deck responding to a sound�... next [...]

13 June 2016 | 30 00'N:79 35'W, in the Gulf Stream off Jacksonville Fl

Offshore once more: SV Calyspo is heading north!

It seems endless, the need to keep pressing, keep moving, from one point to another, the whole world of details needing to be dealt with upon returning after so long offshore, after having completely detached from the world system. Yet, there is a dream state that wants to believe I would not reattach�... [...]

01 June 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Just arriving in Lake Worth... leaving again tomorrow in my car back to RI

the MISSING BLOGS: are coming

Hang in there... I am enroute to Florida to get my car... a busy week. I am getting the 'missing blogs' going. I just realized that I didn't write any blog the days I was knocked down...though Bob did an incredible job of keeping you updated and with the details...He was totally accurate and you all [...]

29 May 2016 | 41 24'N:71 25'W, Bristol RI: Herreshoff Museum Dock

Magnificent Welcome Home

PHOTO: after knockdowns at Cape Horn and heading for Panama WATCH FOR NEW BLOGS : FROM FEB.14- MAR 28�... HANDWRITTEN UNDERWAY AFTER MY COMPUTER BROKE, TO BE TRANSCRIBED AND POSTED OVER THE NEXT SIX WEEKS�... STAY TUNED!!!

Faith Day, Happy Birthday, Zeb

07 May 2016 | 14 40'N:78 30'W, a week out... 350nm from Panama, a bit of head start
donna
Well, the northerlies have come as forecasted and we are chugging along, wind against current, tacking east...the shores and islas off Honduras to the west. The forecasts vary as to how long the northerlies will last before the winds begin to clock more to the east... my saving grace. The longer the northerlies, the farther east I will be forced and potentially, I will end up going east of Cuba after all. We will see. There is no direct route out of the Caribbean sea... I have misgivings about trying to go around the west end of Cuba given the same easterlies will be on my nose, against the gulf stream current, once I round Cuba... so... We will see.

The sky has clouded over, a reprieve from the heat... and luckily the wind generator is whizzing along. At least one form of making power is up and running. But it leaves me continuing on power conservation mode until the batteries recover a bit... so I will hold off using the SSB for a few more days and I am keeping my time on the computer to a minimum. Truth is that I am a tad seasick, a hormonal swing, with the forces below as we sail head to wind, so it will be a rest day... I had little sleep last night in the sweltering heat and I managed to use some powder yesterday that I must be allergic to which made for an uncomfortable combination. Will try to catch up on some rest.

I am so blessed to be able to wish my grandson, Zebedee, a Happy 12th Birthday today!... What an amazing young man he is growing to be, so evident when we talk. Biggest hugs to you, Zeb.

I want to share this amazing truth sent on to me by Joanny... my dear friend for over 30years, from the mountains of NY. "There is nothing in the universe to replace the warmth extended by others... I know that is what is keeping you going and it is amazing how many people you have touched with your journey. Somehow we are all connected... Now, isn't that cool?? I would say fair winds but in this case any winds sound like they'll do!!!" (today a bit of fair winds would be prefered..Ha!) Much love, Joanny.

Keepin On Sailing On Caring... Today is a faith day. There is no evidence or emotions to rely on to believe the best, at least when it comes to sailing... but faith will insist that I will make it home, this sense of contrariness in the situation will change, time will be my advocate in that it will pass. Peace... it is the gem of the day. The end to striving which is all my ego. Once I let go of my ego, peace can come, hopefully along with added patience, the virtue that is most needed it seems, and still most saught after.

Fairest of winds and the love of the oceans Only Gratitude Donna
Comments

About & Links