Bert terHart's Epic Journey

Bert, a resident of Gabriola island, BC, left Victoria on Vancouver Island for his lifelong dream of sailing single-handed around the world, west to east, via the five capes, using only celestial navigation, and all in seven months.

Reprieve

At long last, and after many months, the sky and clouds tell no lies. Today, there will be no surprises. Today, the light air sails can be flown with neither worry nor a weather eye. The Code Zero, dormant since we were last in this Ocean and in these latitudes, will do its part in carrying us home.

The morning is something to behold. Beautiful and more than anyone can ask. But the nights are beyond words. Even a picture worthy of a thousand thousand words would fall short.

The night is my favourite time. Last night, before the moon had risen, there were only the stars to light earth and heaven. We glide between on a calm and restful sea our path lit by the faint glow of light coming from hatches and portholes. The Milky Way extends from horizon to horizon, crowning all with wonders unimaginable. Jupiter, Saturn, and Mars in conjunction to remind me of me of our place among the stars. The Summer Triangle - Deneb, Vega, and Altair - to point the way home. The Southern Cross to remind me of where we have been.

This is my world. My complete universe. My tiny boat a city on a pinhead.

Comments