Bert terHart's Epic Journey

Bert, a resident of Gabriola island, BC, left Victoria on Vancouver Island for his lifelong dream of sailing single-handed around the world, west to east, via the five capes, using only celestial navigation, and all in seven months.

Kauai

I saw almost nothing of the Hawaiian Islands. Oahu a smudge far off to starboard early this afternoon and even then barely a glimpse before it was lost again in low cloud.

I thought that would be it as Kauai was smothered in cloud as I made my way north hat in hand if anyone is wondering. But as the sun set, the cloud that had obscured nearly all of the island began to dissipate, hurrying off to some other engagement.

I was left with this as my parting view of Kauai and final farewell to Polynesia. It was worth the wait.

Comments