Wander to Downunder

06 July 2012 | Fiji
08 December 2011 | St George’s Harbour Grenada
03 December 2011 | La Sagesse, Grenada
26 September 2011
11 September 2011 | Melbourne Australia
14 January 2011 | St David’s Harbour, Grenada
05 January 2011 | Tyrrel Bay, Carriacou
04 January 2011 | Tobago Cays, Southern Grenadines
02 January 2011 | Port Elizabeth, Bequia
31 December 2010 | Cumberland Bay, St Vincent
30 December 2010 | Vieux Fort, St Lucia
29 December 2010 | Marigot Bay, St Lucia
28 December 2010 | Rodney Bay, St Lucia
27 December 2010 | Fort de France, Martinique
25 December 2010 | Roseau, Dominica
24 December 2010 | Ile Saintes, Caribbean
23 December 2010 | Pointe A Pitre, Gaudeloupe
21 December 2010 | The Riviere Salee, Gaudeloupe
20 December 2010 | English Harbour, Antigua

Beating

30 December 2010 | Vieux Fort, St Lucia
JY- Windy
I awoke this morning with the stern of the adjoining boat about to hit Sea Falke. The crew on board the other boat were feverishly trying to do what they could to stop the collision. As it was calm and all boats were facing in different directions, it was inevitable that something like this could happen.
I ended up putting the dinghy between my boat and theirs and used it as a fender.
I had breakfast on the deck this morning, as the place I was in was such a delight.
It wasn't long and I thought that I had now seen what heaven's like and it was time to move on as I was on a schedule.
I chose to stop in Soufriere for my morning coffee. On arriving in the area I was again approached by an eager entrepreneur hoping to assist me with my mooring or anchoring needs. I politely told him I was only stopping for a coffee and therefore would only be here for one hour. You would have thought that was sufficient for him to bugger off, however he suggested that stopping at the "Bat Cave" moorings would be pleasant location to have my coffee and offered good snorkelling. Knowing that he would be seeking payment up to $20EC ($7.50US) for the privilege, I again thanked him and continued on my way. Well this wasn't good enough for this guy and he questioned what I would be doing for an anchorage during this time. Towards the end of the conversation he said, "do you have a problem with paying me for use of the mooring". My answer was "yes, it would end up being a very expensive coffee, especially as I was providing the coffee". I then thanked him for his time, turned my back and continued on my way. What a pest!!
In the end I motored over to the main part of the village (to avoid the majority of the wind), turned the engine off and drifted for the next 30 minutes while I enjoyed my coffee.
Leaving Soufriere with again little wind, I decided that as I had plenty of time today to travel only 12 miles, that I would be happy to sail at 3 knots without the engine past these huge mountains (Petit Piton and Gros Petit) coming straight out of the ocean. What a sight. I have taken many a photo of these guys.
The last 8 miles of today's sailing was a beat to windward. As I hadn't already checked out of St Lucia, I saw no real option but to head for Vieux Fort. I didn't plan this very well, but then again I thought I could be staying in St Lucia another night.
Vieux Fort is not a real tourist mecca. In fact I could have easily missed this place altogether. I did notice that all other boats heading south today, went straight through to St Vincent (a wise move). What a contrast between this place and Marigot Bay or Rodney Bay. Well I suppose the more unfortunate have to live somewhere. It was good to see the place anyway, it would have been a similar scenario in most other towns throughout St Lucia, 30-50 years ago.
I spent the night at anchor with three other boats with space for another 300 hundred. No chance of hitting anyone tonight (unless the anchor drags).
Comments
Vessel Name: Sea Falke
Vessel Make/Model: Gozzard 36
Hailing Port: Newport Rhode Island, USA
Crew: Jeff Young
Social:

Who: Jeff Young
Port: Newport Rhode Island, USA