Seamonkey

03 May 2009 | Little Current
18 April 2009

Finally Spring!

18 April 2009
Ray
It's been an extremely long winter. We haven't had a bad winter like this in many years. Snow, rain and cold...not fun.

But, spring has finally arrived here in Northern Ontario. The snow is almost all gone and the ice on the lakes should be melted this week. Although there's a light rain today, I'm off to the boat to remove the tarps and putter around. My wife and I live in Sudbury, which is 4 hours north of Toronto and my boat is in Little Current on Manitoulin Island, which is about a one hour and twenty minute drive. A short drive to reach such serenity. Seamonkey has been in her cradle for 6 months now. Hopefully, I'll be able to launch her in the next 3 weeks.

I do have a bit of maintenance to do before the launch. 2 seacocks need replacing, paint the bilge & engine room and replace one of the aft windows. Nothing crazy like last year when I decided to repaint the hull and replace the rub rail. A huge project well worth the sweat equity, but limited my sailing to only a few months.

Off to the boat I go!!!
Comments
Vessel Name: Seamonkey
Vessel Make/Model: 1973 36' Morgan OutIsland
Hailing Port: Little Current, Ontario, Canada
Crew: Sue and Ray Quenville
About: We are both approaching 40 years old and plan to leave this hussle and bustle in 5 years to live on our boat in the Caribbean and beyond.

Seamonkey

Who: Sue and Ray Quenville
Port: Little Current, Ontario, Canada